Date: Tuesday, 06 April 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

vital signs logo colour



Report by A W (Tony) Corkill, Commissaire.

The 15th Edition of the Vital Signs Tour de Lakes took place over the Easter holiday period. 85 riders competed in 3 men's grades and a Ladies category in this popular Tour. Tour Director Allan Dunn was thrilled with the number of entries for the 2010 edition, which was up against an event in Canterbury for the first time. Many of the usual Canterbury visitors were back and were prominent in all grades.


James Gibson from Christchurch won the  A grade (sponsored by Barry & Anthea Tall Ceramic Tilers) by 22 seconds from Alex McGregor (Alexandra). Dougal Allan (Wanaka) was 3rd at 1:02 followed by 17 year old Pieter Bulling from Invercargill in 4th place (@1:36) to be the first Southlander in A grade.

Hamish Tomlinson (Invercargill) achieved his goal of winning the King of the Mountains (KOM) classification. Jason Allen easily won the Sprint Ace classification. Allen leaves for the US where he has just signed on for the Rubicon Orbea Pro Team.

Gabby Vermunt dominated the Ladies grade that was sponsored by Seatons Exhausts. Vermunt had a massive 6:59 lead at the end from Laura Thompson (Invercargill) and Sia Svendsen (Christchurch) at 9:15. Kylie Young from Invercargill, competing in her second Tour de Lakes, finished in 4th at 12:35.

Gabby Vermunt won the Sprint Ace classification while Sia Svendsen impressed easily winning the KOM classification.

Ron Pithie from Christchurch did enough on the last stage to win the B Grade (sponsored by Graeme Hyde Landscaping) by a mere 11 seconds from Nigel Pink (Christchurch). Geoff Keogh (Otago) was third (@32  seconds), followed by Craig Best (@38 seconds).

Blake Tait-Jones, the young rider from Winton, in his second tour, won the KOM classification as well as finishing 5th on GC at 1:07. Geoff Keogh, a noted track rider, won the Sprint Ace classification from Glenn Gould.

In his first tour, Jamie Culling from Invercargill won the C grade (sponsored by Invercargill Carpet Court) from Mark Deacon from Balclutha. Going into the last stage Culling was 1 minute down on Deacon, but he won the stage and finished 1:05 ahead. Paul berg finished 3rd on 1:29 with Andrew Maffey on the same time. 

Steve Brough won the Sprint Ace classification with Bruce Jenkins winning the KOM classification.

The full official results are available at .

Congratulations to the following classification winners in the 2010 Vital Signs Tour de Lakes.

General Classification Winners
Ladies: Gabby Vermunt
A Grade: James Gibson
B Grade: Ron Pithie
C Grade: Jamie Culling

Sprint Classification
Ladies: Gabby Vermunt
A Grade: Jason Allen
B Grade: Geoff Keogh
C Grade: Steve Brough

King of Mountain Classification
Ladies: Sia Svendsen
A Grade: Hamish Tomlinson
B Grade: Blake Tait Jones
C Grade: Bruce Jenkins

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5