Date: Thursday, 11 June 2020

Eleven Cycling Southland members have been recognised for their performances and contribuations to the sport over the past year by being included in the list of finalists for the ILT Southland Sports Awards.

With his World Championship winning performance in the points race earlier this year, Corbin Strong is a very strong contender for the ILT Senior Sportsperson of the Year. Add to that his silver medal in the team pursuit at the World Championships, numerous medal-winning performances at World Cups on the track, and his best young rider wins in the Tour de Korea and the Tour de Kumano on the road, and Strong finds himself in with a good shot at the title.

Nick Kergozou is also a finalist in the Senior Sportsperson category, for his medal-winning performances in the team pursuit at the World Cup, as well as a seventh place in the kilo at the World Championships, and numerous national titles, including the kilo and the team sprint.

A Junior World Championship silver medal was the highlight for Vodafone Junior Sportsperson of the Year finalist Emily Paterson, who was nominated alongside fellow Junior Worlds representative Conor Shearing, who managed to claim fourth in the team pursuit, and fifth in the kilo.

The national champion Southland team sprint team, composed of Nick Kergozou, Conor Shearing, and Tom Sexton, have been nominated as finalists in the Southland KIA Team of the Year division.

There are two finalists in the NZME Masters Achievement category, with Neil Familton recognised for his national record in the individual pursuit at Age Group National Championships, and Geertien Venter for her fourth place finish in the Elite women's keirin at Elite and U19 National Championships.

Southern Performance Hub coach Sid Cumming is a finalist in the Ricoh South Coach of the Year category, in recognition for the success achieved by the riders under his care.

Two of our local cycilng officials have also been named as finalists in the Creation Signs Official of the Year category, with Erin Criglington being recognised for her work as a commissaire, both nationally and internationally, and Ian Densie recognised for his tireless work on road and track.

Last, but certainly not least, Bruce Ross has been named as a finalist in the BDO Administrator of the Year category for his ongoing work across all levels of cycling, from teaching cycling skills and safety to schools, all the way up to working as race director on the SBS Bank Tour of Southland.

All the best to all our finalists - the category winners will be announced over five nights from 29 June at 7pm, on the Southland Times website and Facebook page, as well as the ILT and Sport Southland social media platforms.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5