Date: Monday, 23 May 2016

Cycling Southland was a big winner on Saturday night with five members receiving national accolades at the annual Cycling New Zealand awards in Auckland.

Eddie Dawkins, was named Face of Cycling for 2015, recognising his efforts both on and off the track. He will be vying for Olympic glory this year in Rio.

Club president Lindsay Jordan received the Official of the Year, which recognised the heavy involvement he's had with the club during the past 12 years, including six in the top role.

Coaches Sid Cumming and Dave Beadle were recognised for the outstanding job they do with junior riders.

Southland U17 and U19 riders punch well above their weight nationally and regularly achieve national honours. The performance of their riders at the Age Group Track Nationals in 2015 and again in 2016 played a significant role in the province retaining the AACA National Points Shield for a record ninth time this year.

The years of volunteer work that Robin Criglington has contributed to the club were also acknowledged. He received the Life Time Service Award, which was collected on his behalf by daughter and world champion masters rider Erin Criglington.

Cycling Southland general manager Mark Hotton was delighted with the results, which reflected the high regard that Southland cycling was held nationally.

"The guys that won these awards were truly deserving of them. I can't speak highly enough about the work they all regularly put in.

"Cycling in Southland is so much stronger because of the time they commit to the sport they love. And it's great to have these awards presented in the week that we mark the 10th anniversary of the opening of the SIT Zero Fees Velodrome.

"While Eddie can't be with us this week, the other four will be back doing what they do best at our birthday celebrations at the velodrome on Thursday night and the May Magnifique! carnival on Friday and Saturday nights.

"But I'm sure we will take a moment or two as a club to acknowledge and recognise their efforts."

At a glance

(Southland winners)

Official of the Year: Lindsay Jordan

Life time service award: Robin Criglington

Coach of the Year: Sid Cumming and Dave Beadle

Face of Cycling: Eddie Dawkins

 Article courtesy Stuff

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5