Date: Tuesday, 21 January 2014
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Brad Evans wins Gore to Invercargill 2014Otago's Brad Evans took out last night's Gore to Invercargill bike race after a furious sprint up Tay St.

Evans, who was competing in his final year as an under-23 rider at the recent national road championships in Christchurch, narrowly headed off Southland's Josh Haggerty, with Nick Kergozou third overall and the fastest junior.

The trio were all part of a scratch bunch which worked hard into the headwind, just managing to catch the front bunch in the final stages of the race, with Evans winning first and fastest honours in the handicap race in 1hr 33min.

It was a pleasing result for the PowerNet rider, who just missed out on a stage win in November's SBS Bank Tour of Southland when he finished second to Matt Zenovich in the stage to Te Anau.

''We were chasing break and they had four minutes, so we weren't too sure how it was going to go. It was a pretty hard headwind so we decided to hit it hard at the start and try and catch them and then work together with them to catch the other groups.''

Otago's Elyse Fraser was the first female rider home.Evans' focus now switches to the track, where he will ride in the national omnium championships in Invercargill and the national track championships being staged for the first time in the new Cambridge velodrome.

Gore to Invercargill 2014 – Results
1 Brad Evans - 1.33.18
2 Josh Haggerty
3 Nick Kergozou
4 Anton O’Connell
5 Garry Smith
6 Mike White
7 Gary Gardiner
8 Wayne Evans 

Fastest Junior: 
Nick Kergozou -  1.33.18 

Fastest Woman: 
Elyse Fraser – 1.48.18 

Fastest Time:
Brad Evans – 1.33.18 

2nd Fastest Time: 
Josh Haggerty – 1.33.18 

Hill Climbs:
Brydone Hill Climb
1 Eddie Griffiths
2 Kate Wilson
3 Danielle Ralph 

Seaward Downs Hill Climb
1 Eddie Griffiths
2 Waine Harding
3 Shirlene Rollo 

Photo and story courtesy The Southland Times

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5