Date: Monday, 22 September 2014
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Josh Haggerty winner Gorge Road memorialIn perfect conditions an average size field set off into the hills over the 102km course. A gap of 36min separated the seven groups of riders for the 2014 Gorge Road Memorial Classic.

Fast and furious starts destroyed some bunches right from the start, this ultimately playing into the hands of following riders.

Favourable conditions for the scratch bunch riders today the group of 4 was reduced to 2 early on. Josh Haggerty and Robert Huisman set sail to charge through the field, they eventually caught the front with 25km from the finish.

There were some bunches who were determined to fight on regardless. Strong rides by Ray Robby and Jeff Rooney on 2nd break as well as Anton O'Connell in break were rewarded with good final placing.

1st Josh Haggerty 2:36:05 - Murray McLeay Trophy
2nd Robert Huisman 2:36:06
3rd Anton O'Connell 2:40:47
4th Jeff Rooney 2:48:01
5th Neil Familton 2:45:04
6th Aaron Sinclair 2:45:05
7th Brehan Cairns 2:41:10
8th Ray Robinson 2:48:10
9th Alistair Burnett 2:41:13
10th Simon Callaghan 2:48:15
Fastest time Josh Haggerty 2:36:05 - Wilson Trophy
Letterbox Hill Climb Kate Wilson
Gorge Road hill climb Robert Huisman
B-grade 1st Jeff Rooney - Bunty Hewitt Trophy
C-grade 1st Shirlene Rollo - Martin Verbeek Trophy
Fastest female Gabby Vermunt 2:50:12

Curtis Dunn Memorial

Curtis Dunn Memorial winnersRaced in fine conditions the Curtis Dunn Memorial attracted a good field of junior riders for the 2 categories year 7-8 and 9-13.

The year 7 and 8's raced 17 km from Mokotua to McQuarrie St and this race concluded with a sprint finish by the only two girls in the field with Emily Paterson prevailing over Camryn Akeroyd. Both girls also featured in the intermediate sprint & hill climb. Hunter Gough rounded out the top three at the finish.

In the year 9 -13 category Caleb Turnbull took full advantage of his front of the race handicap riding solo right to the end for a good win. A combination of the next two bunches away filled the minor placings. With Madeleine Gough 2nd, Holly Pierce 3rd, Olivia Thornbury 4th and Ronan Ferguson 5th. The back half of the field never came together, with all except the scratch bunch breaking up along the way. Brayden Stephens prevailed over Hayden Strong in the sprint for fastest time.

Thank you to Allan Dunn and family for there support. Allan presented the prizes and trophies to the category winners and fastest time in the memory of his son.Junior Curtis Dunn Memorial Race

Yr 7&8
1st Emily Paterson
2nd Camryn Ackeroyd
3rd Hunter Gough
Yr 9-13
1st Caleb Turnbull
2nd Madeleine Gough
3rd Holly Pierce

Click here to view all photos

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5