Date: Monday, 14 November 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland
Saturday’s 102km Memorial Race started in warm and relatively windless conditions at McQuarrie Street, with the race heading out over the challenging parcours of the Gorge Road / Mataura Island-Fortrose/Seaward Downs /Gorge Road Circuit. The race was in memory all those cycling comrades we have lost over the years and there were three memorial trophies up for grabs: The Murray McLeay Trophy for 1st overall, the Bunty Hewitt Trophy for 1st Division 2 rider and the Martin Verbeek Trophy for first Division 3 rider. The race was kindly sponsored by Graham Atkinson. A strong limit group set off at a cracking pace from the gun establishing a solid lead on the road before a 2nd break started their pursuit 23 minutes later. At 37 minutes the break began their race before the 10 strong scratch bunch took off out of the blocks at 50mins ... Finally everyone was on the road and it was all on for young and old! The first of the King of The Mountains competitions was at Letter Box Hill and was taken out by Sam Kopae, from Wally Kopae and Georgia Timpany. As all the bunches started making inroads on the bunches in front, the limit group – down to 6 riders now, continued to work strongly together. Coming into Gorge Road their lead looked unassailable, despite the Scratch riders reaching break neck speeds heading towards the finish. Marty Lohrey took out the 2nd King of the Mountains competition at the Gorge Road Hill Climb, from Wally Kopae and Georgia Timpany. This group keeping the pressure on and working together until the end, taking out the first six places in a time of 3 hours and 7 minutes. Tom Scully came screaming home 5 minutes later to lead the Scratch markers in, taking fastest time from Mike White and Brehan Cairns. Overall, a brilliant day out ... which we finished off with prize-giving and afternoon tea in the Sarah Ulmer Lounge and a few words from Graham Sycamore about Murray, Bunty and Martin, followed by a minutes silence – fantastic to remember with fondness those who we were racing in memory of. This race wouldn’t have been possible without the help of the numerous volunteers who helped out with the running of the race. THANK YOU VERY MUCH! Results: 1st Wally Kopae – 3:07 – Murray McLeay Trophy 2nd Kylea Gough 3rd Georgia Timpany 4th Sam Kopae 5th Shirleen Rollo 6th Marty Lohrey 7th Wayne Miller 8th Ben Winton 9th Vaughn Edie 10th Tom Scully Fastest Time: Tom Scully – 2:23 2nd Fastest Time: Mike White 3rd Fastest Time: Brehan Cairns Bunty Hewitt Trophy – 1st Division 2 Rider – Brian Lippers Martin Verbeek Trophy – 1st Divison 3 Rider – Wally Kopae Junior division - Curtis Dunn Memorial Cycling Southland Junior Division held the Curtis Dunn Memorial in near perfect conditions on Saturday. The annual handicap event was contested over 2 divisions with both races producing great bunch sprint finishes. With 2 intermediate sprints on each lap this ensured for some good competition within bunches. Division 2. Raced over 1 lap of a 15 km circuit. Front makers Hunter Gough & James Monaghan where part of a 6 rider sprint finish but it was back marker Brayden Stephens off 6 minutes who took 1st place & fastest time from Kain Bowles & Corbin Strong 3rd both off 5 minutes. Trophy winner Brayden Stephens. Division 1. Raced over 2 laps (30km) this race saw back markers (8 mins) Joshua Haggerty (1st), Liam Aitcheson (2nd), Michael Culling (3rd) catch a defiant Hayden Strong & Hamish Beadle off the 3 minute mark just before the last intermediate sprint. Strong rode well to hold on to the fast trio of older riders to finish 4th & take 1st U15 rider with Beadle 5th not to far behind. Winner Trophy & Fastest time Trophy Joshua Haggerty
© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5