Date: Sunday, 20 June 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

James Hargest High School successfully defended its title at the Southland/Otago Secondary School Road Cycling Championships at Teretonga on Sunday. Having earlier this year taken out the overall Secondary School Track Championship there can be little doubt of its standing as the south’s premier cycling school.

Held in overcast and chilly conditions, James Hargest finished the day with 22 points, claiming its seventh consecutive School Title, holding off Dunstan High School (17) with Southland Boys High School finishing third on 14 points.

The day featured an Individual Time Trial and Road Race in three Age Group categories for both boys and girls and finished with a Team’s Time Trial.

Dunstan High School’s Tom Vessey completed the day’s most dominant performance, blowing away the field in the Under 17 Boys Road Race to finish ahead of chasing pack by over a minute. Schoolmate Sophie Williamson ensured a happy bus trip home to Central Otago for the Dunstan team, completing the double by winning the Time Trial by a solitary second and the Road Race in a sprint finish.

Southland Boys High’s Michael Culling again turned in an eye-catching display, covering the 8 kilometre time trial course more than a minute faster than his nearest rival and then backed up to comfortably win the Road Race.


Under 15 Girls: 1st Brooke Brazier, 2nd Sophie McMurdo, 3rd Libby Bayne
Under 15 Boys: 1st Michael Culling, 2nd Liam Haggerty, 3rd Nick Kergozou
Under 17 Girls: 1st Sophie Williamson, 2nd Jen Muhl, 3rd Kate Dunlevey
Under 17 Boys:  1st Ryan Mackay, 2nd Liam Aitcheson, 3rd Tom Vessey
Under 19 Girls: 1st Emma Sutherland, 2nd Sarah Tomlinson, 3rd Pagan Marshall
Under 19 Boys:  1st Marcel Baird, 2nd Chris Sexton, 3rd Jamie Culling


1. James Hargest High (22)
2. Dunstan High (17)
3. Southland Boys (14)
4. Southland Girls (13)
5. Queens (4)
6. Gore High (1)
6. Verdon (1)

Visiting School Trophy: Dunstan High School

Southland Secondary School Trophy: James Hargest High School

For full results click here.

For results from the Team's Time Trial click here.

Age Group Winners 

Southland Secondary School Individual Winners - Edit

Winning Individuals at the 2010 Southland/Otago Road Cycling Champs at Teretonga. Left to Right: Sophie Williamson - Dunstan High (U17 Girls), Marcel Baird - James Hargest High (U19 Boys), Michael Culling - Southland Boys High (U15 Boys), Ryan Mackay - Dunstan (U17 Boys), Emma Sutherland - Queens (U19 Girls), Brooke Brazier - Southland Girls (U15 Girls)

School Winners

Southland Secondary School Team Winners - Edit

Winning Schools at the 2010 Southland/Otago Road Cycling Champs at Teretonga. Left to Right: Sophie Williamson, Dunstan High (Winning Visiting School) and Marcel Baird, James Hargest High (Overall Winning School)


© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5