Date: Monday, 31 July 2017

Another enthusiastic group of riders signed up for the Jason Barlow Building sponsored race at Myross Bush on Saturday 22 July with the weather not being very kind at the start and finish of the race.

First across the line for the junior race was Ronan Shearing with Marshall Erwood 2nd. Thanks to Wally Kopae for helping and giving a couple of the juniors a few pointers.

A Grade was won by Brendan Akeroyd with Luke Macpherson very close on his wheel. After being informed that Brendan had crossed the white line to advance and progress to the front of the race it was considered on the day that he would be relegated into 2nd . However, earlier in the week after discussions with two commissaires, it has been decided to reverse the relegation sanction and he has been given an official warning, so in the end the results stand as they did at the end of the race with Brendan crossing the line first followed by Luke and quite a way back was Navarh Brotherston showing hen can cut the mustard in A grade.

B Grade had the biggest group of the day with a few of the younger riders giving it a nudge of the front. However, being brought back into the main bunch very quickly, it was a very fast and furious race with young Josh Miller finally taking out the glory, Conor Shearing rolling for 2nd with Neil Familton hot on his tail.

C Grade also seemed to be having a bit of a battle with a sprint finish at the end which Hunter Gough took out followed closely by Jim Phair in 2nd place and then Sam Kopae in 3rd posse.

Please be aware that at the start of the race it was mentioned that anyone going over the white line would not be disqualified however they would be relegated, please be mindful that this rule is put in place for the safety of all riders in the event and if seen by the race manager you may be relegated.

Race report courtesy of manager Tracey Miller

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5