Date: Monday, 28 January 2019

Fine weather and a “gentle” northerly greeted the 35 riders for the first race of the season on the Makarewa-Lochiel loop.
The mass start race was neutral for the first 10km and it was pleasing to see most riders taking their turn into the wind and a special thanks to those senior rider who assisted the juniors as they came to the front into the wind.
Once racing started two main groups quickly formed with a few riders caught between the groups and that was the pattern of the race for the day.

1.       Hamish Keast
2.       Fraser Hewett
3.       Hamish Beadle
4.       Conor Shearing
5.       Neil Familton

In the junior race Caitlin Kelly and Tom Kerr fought out the result with Tom trying a lon- range attach from the final corner but Caitlin was up to the challenge and took the win.

1.       Caitlin Kelly
2.       Tom Kerr
3.       Frankie Thomson
Thank you to Robin Criglington, Kerry Russell, Lindsay Jones and Brendon Kerr for the assistance.
Report courtesy of race manager David Simpson

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5