Date: Monday, 12 December 2016

Thirty three riders turned up for the six lap points race around the Myross Bush circuit for the final South Port points series race, with great racing by everyone in tough, windy conditions.

A Grade with four riders had a relatively uncontested ride, points being shared between Josh Haggerty (24pts), Piet Bulling (23pts) and Matt Nunn (13pts).  Corbin Strong (40pts) takes out the series win from Brendan Akeroyd (28pts) and Blake-Tait Jones (27pts).

The B Grade race was marred by a crash in the first lap when a wheel touch put Steve Brough, Ray Robinson and Grant Colbran down. Grant walked away relatively unscathed and Ray finished the race, but reports were that Steve got a bit banged up. Heal well Steve. Foxing by the series leaders allowed Andrew Holden (23pts) 1st and Dave Simpson (17pts) 2nd to consistently get off the front. They were rewarded for their graft into the wind racking up the points. Wayne Millers (7pts) persistence and willingness to have a crack brought him home in third place. Both Hori and Neil Familton giving it their usual 110%, raced an extra lap for good measure?

Series win goes to Hori Miller (48pts) from Neil Familton (45pts) and Andrew Lienert (43pts).

Early on C Grade pretty much stayed together allowing the sprinters Daryl Haggerty, Craig Sadlier and junior rider Lachie Baird to take easy points. Mid-race Max Anderson decided he had enough of that and had a good crack off the front. Craig Sadlier rode well doing what he needed to secure the Series win. Daryl Haggerty (22pts) 1st from Craig Sadlier (17pts) and Max Anderson (9 pts).

Series win goes to Craig Sadlier (62pts) from Allan Milne (53pts) and Darryl Haggerty (38 pts)

NB - One B Grade Rider reported across the center line making forward progress prior to sprint 2nd lap.  Not addressed with rider but they will know who they are.

Race report courtesy of race manager Wally Kopae

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5