Date: Monday, 07 January 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Phillipa Gray and Laura Thomson after winning goldAfter a hugely successful 2012 on the bike, Paralympian Phillipa Gray and her pilot Laura Fairweather have started 2013 by earning significant accolades off the bike.

Gray, who combines with Fairweather to win gold, silver and bronze medals at the London Paralympics, has been named a finalist in the Halberg Awards' Disabled Sportsperson of the Year.

The category was introduced in 2011 to recognise the achievements of New Zealand's classified disabled athletes competing on the world stage. The winner of the Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Award joins winners of the Sportswoman, Sportsman and Team categories as one of four finalists eligible for the country's most prized sporting accolade - the 'Halberg Award'.

Voting for the Westpac Halberg Awards is carried out by a 30-strong Voting Academy comprising media representatives, and former athletes and coaches who have excelled at the highest level.

Award winners will be announced at the 50th Westpac Halberg Awards at Vector Arena, Auckland, on Thursday, February 14, 2013. The event will also be televised live on SKY Sport.

Both women were also named in the New Years Honours List as members of the NZ Order of Merit for services to cycling.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5