Date: Monday, 14 February 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

The largest ever Southland track cycling team was last  announced to defend the National Points Shield at the RaboDirect National Track Championships at Invercargill’s ILT Velodrome later this month.

A total of 76 riders will wear the Southland skinsuit over the Elite and Age Group Championships, each looking to help the host centre retain the symbol of regional track cycling supremacy. The country’s 11 Cycling Centres suit up with points awarded to each Centre for the top three riders in each event over the eight days of competition.

Last year Southland wiped the board registering a total of 110 points from Auckland (61) and Canterbury (42). This prompted some new upstart CEO to claim it one of the most dominant Southland sporting performances of all time (incidentally I still stand by that).

Although final entries close today, word from further north is that those big centres have had enough of the southerners’ domination and are bring large contingents south. So this is something of a call-to-arms to get along to the ILT Velodrome and give the hometown heroes your support.

The Elite Champs run from Friday February 25th to 27th with sessions starting at 11am and 6.30pm while the Age Group Champs run from March 1st to 5th with daily action starting from 10am and 6.30pm.

Tickets are on sale now at Stadium Southland – adult prices are $10 for evenings and $5 for day sessions while kids are free. Plus there are discounted family and season passes available. Short story is ... it’s as cheap as chips.

To deliver an event like this takes the definition of a team effort. Our riders, coaches, team officials and event staff and volunteers have prepared well. Now all that’s left is a little fine-tuning over the next fortnight before the campaign for the Points Shield defence begins.

I hope you can give us a hand too.

The Southland squad is:

U 15 : Madeleine Gough, Makayla Smith, Bronwyn Graham, Josh Carpenter, Liam Haggerty, Hamish Beadle, Hayden Strong , Tom Sexton. 

U 17 : Laura Heywood, Jennifer Muhl, Brooke Brazier, Libby Bayne, Michael Culling, Josh Haggerty, Jeremy Presbury, Liam Aitcheson, Nick Kergozou.

U 19 : Sophie Williamson, Kelsey Timpany, Sarah Tomlinson, Kate Dunlevey, Paigan Marshall, Georgia Timpany, Stephanie Mckenzie, Pieter Bulling, Tom Beadle, Jamie Culling , Marcel Baird , Paddy Daly, Ethan Thwaites, Tom Dawkins, Matt Zenovich, Chris Sexton.

Masters Men 3: Peter Grandiek, Ray Robinson, Bruce Jones, Colin Horton.

Masters Men 2: Richard Eade, Neil Jamieson, Wally Kopae, Neil Familton, Sier Vermunt, Ant Leathart, Roger Nicholas, Grant Toomey, Simon Lusk.

Masters Men 1: Michael White, Jerard Stock, Garry Smith, Derek Tan, Andrew Lienert.

Masters Women 1: Erin Criglington, Kylea Gough.

Masters Women 2: Marie Muhl, Sandra Kopae, Jac Dearlove.

Para-Cyclists: Phillipa Gray/Laura Thompson.

Elite Women: Sequoia Cooper, Dale Tye, Natasha Hansen, Kylie Young, Emma Gibb, Gabby Vermunt, Rebecca O’Donnell.

Elite Men: Tom Scully, Eddie Dawkins, Cameron Karwowski, Matt Archibald, Hamish Tomlinson, Lee Evans, Brehan Cairns, Dillon Bennett, Sean Fox, Matt Dodds, Karl Watson.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5