Date: Monday, 11 March 2019


Waikato Bay of Plenty cycling’s rising star, Jack Carswell shook off being pipped for a podium finish in the scratch race to take two gold medals on the third day of the Vantage Age Group Track National Championships in Cambridge.

Around 220 riders from around the country have assembled at the Avantidrome to contest youth and masters age group titles over four days of competition.

It was a case of another day, another two gold medals for the Carswell family on day three of competition, only this time it was Jack’s turn to stand on top of the podium after his mother Fiona starred on day two.

The 16 year old rode a smart points race, earning maximum points from three of four sprints, to hold off a fast finishing Kaio Lart for his third national title after collecting his second in the team pursuit as part of the Waikato Bay of Plenty White team earlier in the session.

The team of Carswell, Hamish Coltman, Matthew Davis, Zakk Patterson and Jaxson Russell threatened the national record but ultimately fell short, posting at time of 2:23.531 after overlapping the team from Southland. 

In the under 17 girls racing, Canterbury’s Jenna Borthwick was again a stand out, lowering her own national record, clocking 11.932, the first time an under 17 female has broken the 12 second mark. Borthwick showed her class to win match sprints from both in front and behind, her complete dominance and marking her as one to watch.

Prudence Fowler (Waikato BOP) and Kaio Lart (Tasman) took the other two under 17 titles on day three, in the points race and 500m time trial respectively.

Fowler was part of a three-women breakaway with Jessica Spencer (Southland) and Charlotte Spurway (Canterbury) that formed a third of the way into the race and stayed until the end, with Fowler producing a sublime 100m effort, coming around the outside to best her opponents for the national title.

Lart was impressive in the 500m time trial, just missing out on the national record set in 2012 by Quinn Karwowski by 0.038 seconds. This is his second national title this week.

Jack Overweel (West Coast NI) and Seana Gray (Waikato BOP) were the pick of the under 15 riders, showcasing outstanding sprinting ability to take the boys and girls derby races. Gray has had an impressive week so far, already taking gold in the 500m time trial and scratch race.

Other victories on day two went to Geertien Venter, Robyn De Haas and Penny Pawson in the women’s masters scratch races, the latter’s off the back of a stunning lap gain, while Dan Rutland, Sam Park, Peter Ashworth and Graeme Litt collected the men’s masters keirin titles. 

Racing ends this evening after team sprint, points race, team pursuit and Madison finals.

Caption: Tienke Venter claims gold in the Individual Pursuit and Scratch races.


© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5