Date: Sunday, 07 April 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

The Southland road cycling champions were decided in Te Tipua on Sunday in near perfect conditions. Medals were handed out across 11 seperate age categories with some closely fought racing across the grades.

Hunter Gough and Josh Miller engaged in yet another close battle in the Under 13 Boys with Gough reversing the tables from Saturday's Time Trial with a five second victory while older sister Madeleine added the Under 15 girls road race title to her burgeoning list of cycling achievements.

Corbin Strong took the Under 15 Boys title over Hamish Keast with a well-timed final sprint with multiple national track champion Kain Bowles earning bronze, four seconds back. The Under 17 boys turned in to a three way battle with Tom Sexton holding Hayden Strong at bay in the final sprint to take gold, with Hamish Beadle finishing third, 19 seconds adrift of the top two.

Makayla Smith completed a perfect weekend, backing up her commanding time trial win with an equally impressive 2:14 victory in the road race. Emma Cumming finished second with Lucy Timpany earning a bronze medal.

Derek Tan kicked clear of Alistair Burnett to take a four second win in the Masters 35-44 Men with Andrew Lienert third across the line, while Neil Familton timed his final sprint to perfection to jump in front of Steve Brough in the final metres to take the gold. Aaron Sinclair claimed bronze, just five seconds later. 

Erin Criglington was again in little difficulty in the Masters Women's grade, adding another gold to her collection with a 1:15 victory over Shirlene Rollo, with Sam Kopae taking the third medal. Aimee Burns took out the Elite Women's title from Sequoia Cooper while Luke Macpherson and Josh Haggerty made it a time trial/road race double in the Elite Men and Under 19 Men respectively, Haggerty taking the sprint finish from Liam Aitcheson with Nick Kergozou earning the under 19 bronze.

Attention now switches to the Club Road Nationals to be held in Queenstown from April 18 to 21.


© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5