Date: Saturday, 11 June 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

11/06/2011 - Cycling Southland's Graham Sycamore's lifetime commitment to the sport of cycling was recognised tonight in Auckland at BikeNZ Road and Track's Annual General, winning the sport's most prestigious award, the Malayan Cup.

The man affectionately known as "Syccie" was left speechless (nearly) when President Garry Bell read out his name as the winner from a list of five candidates, headlined by Alison Shanks and Jesse Sergent, leading Sycamore to quip that it was the first time he had beaten two world champions.

Syccie was presented the Cup by former competitor and fellow legend Warwick Dalton who previewed this year's announcement with the story of how he won the Malayan Cup as part of a New Zealand team in 1957. It proved to be a very appropriate preview - Sycamore started riding in Invercargill in the very same year.

He spoke of the grounding he received following in the footsteps of cycling officials including Ollie Henderson and Ray O'Connor and paid tribute to those who do so much for the sport across the country.

He also paid special tribute to wife Bernie who, he says, does three-quarters of his work.

He concluded by saying the reason you do it is because you love doing it and that the day you stop having fun you should give up and disappear.

We all hope he continues having fun for many years yet.

Congratulations Graham Sycamore, 2011 Malayan Cup winner.

Volunteer Award Finalists

Cycling Southland featured prominently in other Volunteer Award categories. Matt Archibald, Sequoia Cooper and Gabby Vermunt were all nominated for the Faces of Cycling awards for their efforts as role models in the sport won by Shane Archbold (Male) and Alison Shanks (Female).

The Volunteer Lifetime Award (10 years of service or more) featured the legendary Tony Ineson, with Christchurch's Bruce and Amy Dawe being crowned the winner.

And Cycling Southland's Senior Convenor Waine Harding deservedly featured on the list of finalists in the Newcomer category, won by Sue Lyttle of Wellington.


© Copyright 2022 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5