Date: Saturday, 26 March 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Simon Croom on his way to winning the 2011 Southland Time Trial Champs26/03/2011 - The Southland Road Championships began today with the Time Trial Champs held on the Waianawa Circuit. Persistent rain made for trying conditions as Southland titles were handed out across 13 different age group categories.

The early junior races saw comfortable wins for Maddy Gough, Lachlan and Bronwyn Graham and Liam Haggerty, who transfered his strong track form onto a blistering ride on the road. The Under 17 Girls saw one of the closest battles of the day, Jen Muhl shading Georgia Vessey by just 11 seconds, while Josh Haggerty took his younger brother's lead to dominate his fellow Under 17 riders.

Sarah Tomlinson was crowned Under 19 Women's champion while there were three clear cut Masters winners - Erin Criglington (Women), Ray Robinson (45+) and Derek Tan (35-44). Tan's time was particularly impressive, being the fastest recorded for three laps for the whole day.

Kylie Young took the Senior Women win while Mat Zenovich took out the Under 19 Men's title with Tom Vessey, Jamie Culling and Paddy Daly fighting it out for the other podium spots. The Senior Men's race was controlled from start to finish by Simon Croom, who finished nearly a minute ahead of his closest rival. Dillon Bennett ripped home to make up nearly 30 seconds on his final lap to claim silver over Brehan Cairns in third.

Tomorrow's road races start from 10.00am in Wyndham and will feature strong fields, particularly in the Senior, Under 19 and Masters men. For Road Race details click here.


Under 13 Girls (9km)
1st Madeleine Gough 18'59.4
2nd Devon Marshall 19'49.4

Under 13 Boys (9km)
1st Lachlan Graham 17'11.0
2nd Corbin Strong 17'31.5
3rd Hunter Gough 20'31.5
4th Ronan Ferguson 20'45.4

Under 15 Girls (18km)
1st Bronwyn Graham 35'39.5

Under 15 Boys (18km)
1st Liam Haggerty 28'57.6
2nd Hamish Beadle 29'52.4
3rd Thomas Sexton 31'09.9
4th Brayden Stephens 31'51.4
5th Reece Havenaar 32'29.7

Under 17 Girls (18km)
1st Jennifer Muhl 29'39.3
2nd Georgia Vessey 29'50.3
3rd Laura Heywood 30'34.8
4th Monique Raggett 31'39.7

Under 17 Boys (18km)
1st Joshua Haggerty 25'17.8
2nd Nick Kergozou De La Boess 27'02.3
3rd Jeremy Presbury 28'30.1

Under 19 Women (18km)
1st Sarah Tomlinson 31'03.1

Masters Women  (18km)
1st Erin Criglington 28'04.0
2nd Kylea Gough 29'05.3
3rd Shirlene Rollo 30'05.3
4th Kate Tomlinson 30'21.4
5th Nicola Stevens 32'03.7

Masters Men 45+ (27km)
1st Ray Robinson 39'50.6
2nd Mark Day 41'43.0
3rd Daryl Haggerty 46'55.8
4th Peter Grandiek 1'02'14.3

Masters Men 35-44 (27km)
1st Derek Tan 37'12.2
2nd Andrew Lienert 40'32.6
3rd Alistair Burnett 40'59.0
4th Alan Strong 42'07.6
5th John Andrews 43'59.8

Senior Women (27km)
1st Kylie Young 45'01.7

Under 19 Men (27km)
1st Mathew Zenovich 37'29.1
2nd Tom Vessey 38'31.0
3rd Jamie Culling 38'58.2
4th Paddy Daly 39'23.7
5th Tom Beadle 40'07.2
6th Ethan Thwaites 40'20.9
7th Logan Havenaar 40'27.7
8th Christopher Sexton 41'57.6
DNF Pieter Bulling

Senior Men (36km)
1st Simon Croom 49'29.3
2nd Dillon Bennett 50'26.3
3rd Brehan Cairns 50'48.5
4th Lachlan Shannon 53'29.3
5th Blake Tait-Jones 54'06.2

For race report and results from Sunday's Road Race Championships click here.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5