Date: Wednesday, 02 October 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

There were some impressive displays at racing this week, with the number of Division 1 Sprinters far out-numbering the Enduros and making for some fantastic racing! 

The highlight of the night was the Division 1 Keirin, which resulted in a blanket finish between four riders who were almost impossible to separate – a finish line camera was needed!  Jeremy Presbury was given the nod, following from his win in the first race of the night, with new Cycling Southland member Ben Stewart, local stalwart Karl Watson and Otago’s in-form Patrick Jones also part of the tie, with Stewart and Watson eventually awarded 2nd and 3rd places respectively.  The ‘Sprinters’ Keirin later in the night was taken out by Fabian Wybrow, with this time Watson 2nd and Stewart 3rd. Great racing guys!

Kirstie James had a great night taking out the Division 2 Scratch Race and also the first of the Keirins, while Tim Maynard was also in good form to take out the Points Race.  Mark Kerrison just held on to win the 4 lap Handicap race, just pipping fast finishing Patrick Jones, with a consistent Gerald Paterson in 3rd and hugely improving Jamie Wilson in 4th.

Congratulations to all riders and a big thank you to Stu MacDonald for again riding the motorbike for the Keirins and Motor-paced Scratch.

We have a break from racing next week due to the ILT Junior Carnival ... but it would be great to have riders down giving a hand at this Carnival instead!? Let Dale know if you’re keen!

Scratch Race
Division 2
1 Kirstie James
2 Sequoia Cooper
3 Gerald Paterson 

Division 1
1 Jeremy Presbury
2 Fabian Wybrow
3 Patrick Jones 

Race 1
1 Kirstie James
2 Tim Maynard
3 Jamie Wilson 

Race 2
1 Brendan Akeroyd
2 Joe Archer
3 Neil Familton 

Race 3
1 Jeremy Presbury
2 Ben Stewart
3 Karl Watson 

Points Race
Division 2
1 Tim Maynard – 10 Points
2 Jamie Wilson – 7 Points
3 Derek Tan – 6 Points 

Division 1 – Point-every-two-laps
1 Pieter Bulling – 3 Points
2 Patrick Jones – 2 Points
3 Neil Familton – 1 Point 

Sprinters Keirin
1 Fabian Wybrow
2 Karl Watson
3 Ben Stewart 

Four Lap Handicap
1 Mark Kerrison
2 Patrick Jones
3 Gerald Paterson
4 Jamie Wilson 

Motorpaced Scratch Race
1 Patrick Jones
2 Ben Stewart
3 Neil Familton
4 Sequoia Cooper

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5