Date: Saturday, 30 June 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Saturday dawned crisp and clear and a good crew headed out to Waianiwa to kick off the Cycling Southland Winter Road Series with a 20km Time Trial.

Junior Riders tested their speed and endurance over a 10km course, with Josh Miller taking out Division 3, Josh Carpenter Division 2 and Nick Kergozou Division 1.

There were some really stand out rides in the Senior Division, with Andrew Ward taking out C Grade and the Points Series Leader’s Jersey in a time of 33.08 over the tough parcours.  Erin Criglington had a brilliant ride taking out second in 34.03 and Jamie Cunningham close behind in 34.17.

In B Grade, Neil Familton took the honours and Yellow Jersey in a blistering 29.59 from Gabby Vermunt, who also turned in a top ride in 30.41 (placing her fifth overall for the day!), with Alistair Burnett third in 31.20.

Robert Huisman took out A Grade and the Series Lead in a smoking 29.27 from Derek Tan in 30.08 and Luke Macpherson in 30.28.

HUGE thank you to everyone that helped out on the day – Mary Marshall, Mike Cooper, Steve Heywood, Maree Haggerty, Robyn Edie, Robin Criglington, Stewart Morley, Lindsay our STMS, and all others who lent a hand ... including of course Bruce Ross and Waine Harding – legends in their own right.  Much appreciated team!

For a full list of the day's results click here

See you next week on Retreat Road for the Donovan Points Race.

Dale Tye
Race Manager

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5