Date: Monday, 22 February 2016

Despite showery conditions in Invercargill it was a mild dry course with a small tail wind as riders set off from Central Pirates rugby ground. There were around 30 riders representing A, B, C grades and a good a group of juniors who started from Hedgehope and rode to Winton.

A grade impressed with an average speed of 43km and stayed together as a bunch contesting the sprint at the end. Congratulations to Mike White who took 1st place with a time of 1hr 14m. Second went to Corbin Strong who as a junior rode an impressive race and Josh van den Arend took out third. (Alan Strong has your prize money Josh )

Bruce Jones said he was going to have a quiet day but, true to form, spent most of the race at the front out on breaks. He lead them in but he was hunted down in the last 800 metres with Neil Familton sneaking through and taking the honours with a time of 1 hr 23.  Second went to Aaron Sinclair and the in-form Alistair Burnett took third. 

C grade rode strongly as a bunch. A great sprint at the end make it look as though Jim Phair was going to take it out again but a fast finishing Daryl Haggerty took out first place with a flying finish. Jim had to settle for second with a happy Shirleen Rollo taking 3rd.

Thank you to the Winton Middle pub for their sponsorship of the event.  Thanks also to Lindsay, Tania, Max, Grant and Lynne for their help.

Remember your race numbers next week. No number no placing.

Race report courtesy of mega manager Geoff van Dam

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5