Date: Saturday, 19 November 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Wyndham turned on a beautiful sunny and warm day for Saturday’s Road Race - a 73km circuit race – encompassing a challenging two loops around the Edendale Wyndham, Island Edendale, Matuara Island, and Wyndham Letterbox Roads, through Glenham and back to Wyndham. The town itself was gearing up for next weekend’s Burt Munro street race and was a hub of activity – the locals literally carving up some of the streets to be used for the street race (Shane and Lindsay’s safety assessment highlighting several concerns!) and some of the locals showing their practicality by using their lawn-mowers as prams to transport the younger residents from place to place. Looking forward to more entertainment next weekend! The racing itself was hard and fast, with our Australian friend Sean Finning a convincing winner of the A Grade, breaking away on the first lap with local triathlete Robert Huisman to lead the bunch by 2min 15 secs heading into the second lap, eventually riding away from Huisman to convincingly take the win, the rest of the bunch left to fight it out for 3rd place. Both B and C Grade shattered on the first lap with a break away of five riders succeeding in B Grade, Geoff Van Dam taking out a closely fought bunch sprint from Andrew Leinhert and Bruce Jones, just edging out Neil Familton. In the C Grade Wayne Miller took the spoils from Vaughn Edie and then Alister Burnett over a very strung out field. The parcours and distance taking it’s toll over the 2 laps. Overall, a really brilliant day of racing – lovely to see the sun and enjoy a trip out into the beautiful Wyndham area. A huge thanks to all those who helped out particularly Shane Fletcher, Phil Culling, Lynette Mattingley and Carolyn Robinson, who always put their hand up to help. Thanks guys! A Grade 1. Sean Finning 1:51:43 2. Robert Huisman 1:52:25 3. Brehan Cairns 1:58:03 B Grade 1. Geoff Van Dam 2:00:30 2. Andrew Leinhert Same Time 3. Bruce Jones Same Time C Grade 1. Wayne Miller 2:04:10 2. Vaughn Edie 2:04:43 3. Alister Burnett 2:07:00

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5