Date: Monday, 05 August 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Fine, calm conditions greeted the 43 riders for the challenging Wyndham circuit, which this year saw the addition of the steep Mimihau Hill as the finish point.

In Division 1 we saw a splitting of the peloton when Mat Zenovich started to ride a good solid tempo at the front of the bunch first time over the hills. By the end of the first lap the lead group contained Mat, Alex McGregor, Brendan Akeroyd, Vaughn Edie and Nick Kergozou, with time gaps between the remaining riders. At the finish Mat proved too strong for Alex McGregor (2nd) and a good ride from relative new comer Brendan Akeroyd – who is continuing to show consistency and strength, saw him come in third followed closely by Vaughan Edie and Nick Kergozou.

Division 2 remained mostly intact for the first lap with only a couple of riders dropping off and two finding the going a bit tough and pulling out. Bruce Jones was one of the riders putting the pressure on second time over the hills and this effort saw things break up. In the end it was Blake Tait-Jones who had the legs at the end of the race to take the win from Dave Beadle and Bruce Jones, followed just two minutes later by Kylie Young.

Division 3 also saw the majority of the field together after the first lap with three riders having had enough after the first lap and pulling out. At the finish line Tim Maynard had a comfortable win from Grant Toomey with Sid Cumming in third place followed soon after by Marty Lohrey and Jamie Cunningham.

Five riders started in the one lap Division 4, which resulted in a close finish between Nicola Stevens and Adrian Latta, with Nic taking the win and now putting herself into the point’s series leader’s jersey. Kate Wilson finished in third followed by Helen McKenzie and Jane Donaldson.

Overall most people found the course challenging but enjoyable.

Thanks again must go to all who helped out on the day especially the road marshalls, Lindsay on the STMS and Robin Criglington taking the entries.,/p>

Check out the Leaders Board standings after race 2 in the series

Report from Race Manager Aaron Sinclair

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5