2018 Memorial Weekend

Memorial Race - 28 April

Invercargill cyclist Hayden Rankin took line honours in the Cycling Southland Memorial Classic on Saturday afternoon.

Raced in cool and windy conditions, the handicapped event attracted a field of 30 riders and was raced over the Invercargill-Waimahaka-Seaward Downs-Gorge Road course.  The front two bunches came together at Gorge Road on the outward leg and Kerry Russell took out the Letterbox Hill climb from Erin Criglington.  The scratch bunch, ably led by Matt Zenovich, was making steady progress in their endeavours to chase down the front groups and following the Letterbox Hill, Zenovich turned on the power to commence his solo attack.

Coming through Gorge Road on the return journey to the Invercargill finish, the front group continued to work together well with Rankin, Richard Pascoe and Gene Marsh leading the charge. Rankin took out the second hill climb at Gorge Road and into the finish line in McQuarrie Street, he held on gamely to outsprint Pascoe with Marsh and Russell filling third and fourth places respectively. Rankin’s winning time was 2 hours 53 minutes 7 seconds.

Lone scratch rider, Zenovich produced a typical powerhouse ride to take fastest time and fifth place overall in the 102km event with a time of 2 hours 32 minutes 07 seconds.

1              Hayden Rankin                  Time:     2 hours 53 minutes 07 seconds
2              Richard Pascoe                                 
3              Gene Marsh                                                      
4              Kerry Russell
5              Matt Zenovich
6              Dave Beadle

Fastest time:
Matt Zenovich                   Time:     2 hours 32 minutes 07 seconds

First Woman:
Emily Paterson                  Time:     3 hours 12 minutes 15 seconds

Murray McLeay Trophy: Hayden Rankin
Bunty Hewitt Trophy: Dave Beadle
Martin Verbeek Trophy: Kerry Russell
L.K Wilson Trophy: Matt Zenovich

Curtis Dunn Memorial Mystery Handicap Race Results

Special thanks to Allan Dunn for the support of this race for the last 35 years and a good reminder to all juniors riders to ride safe out there on the road. Some of New Zealand’s biggest names in cycling have been on these trophies as juniors winners in previous years, so big congrats to all the winners today.

Under 13 Winner - Jack McLeod
2nd - Kayne Borrie
3rd - Oliver Borrie

Under 15 Winner - Ronan Shearing
2nd - Reuben Heslip
3rd - Marshall Elwood

Under 17 Winner - Morgan Borrie
2nd - Hunter Gough
3rd - Navarh Brotherston

Fastest Time - Navarh Brotherston


Race: 102km Handicap Race

Assembly: Kew Bowling Club McQuarrie Street (11.30am)

Handicap: Limit riders will start at 12.00pm, marks will be given on the day  

Prizegiving: Kew Bowling Club, McQuarrie Street (3.45pm approx.)

Entry Fee: $20.00

Course Map: www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/57114700

Registration: Please register using our Teamer app.

Trophies: Martin Verbeek
                 Murray McLeay
                 Bunty Hewitt
                 LK Wilson Challenge Cup

Afternoon Tea: Please bring a plate to share at the Prizegiving. It’s a great way to wrap up the season.


Juniors Race - 28 April

Race: Mystery Handicap Race (per age group)

Assembly: Tisbury Hall (1.00pm)

Races: U13 – 1 Lap of Wednesday Worlds, McQuarrie St Finish

              U15 – 2 Laps of Wednesday Worlds, McQuarrie St Finish

              U17 – 3 Laps of Wednesday Worlds, McQuarrie St Finish

Prizegiving: Kew Bowling Club, McQuarrie Street (3.45pm approx.)

Trophy: Curtis Lee Dunn Memorial

Entry Fee: $10.00

Gearing: U13 – 6.00m, U15 – 6.61m, U17 – 7.00m

Course Map: www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/2007675484/

Registration: Please register using our Teamer app or commenting on the Cycling Southland Junior Division Facebook page.

Afternoon Tea: Please bring a plate to share at the Prizegiving. It’s a great way to wrap up the season.

2010 Memorial Weekend

Perfect Conditions Bless 2010 Memorial Weekend Racers

28/08/10 - Idyllic conditions greeted a large field of riders for Cycling Southland’s Memorial Handicap Road Races on Saturday. Over 100 riders lined up for Junior and Senior road races covering distances up to 102 kilometres through Gorge Road, Waimahaka and Seaward Downs. Kieran Caldwell took overall honours, completing his journey in a shade over three hours to claim first place from Rikki Griffin who crossed second and John Kissell who placed third. <read more>

Memorial Weekend Video Highlights - Senior Division Race

Memorial Weekend Video Highlights - Junior Division Race

© Copyright 2019 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5