The Southland Track Cycling Championships will take place from Friday 4 December to Sunday 6 December 2020.

Please note that as this is a 2021 event, riders will be racing in their 2021 age groups. However, 2020 licences are still valid until 31 December 2020, so can be used at this event. Riders taking part in the non-championship Novice events (wheel race, scratch race) do not require a racing licence. However, those taking part in any of the championship events (including U13 Time Trial, Points Race, and Derby) need to hold a full Cycling New Zealand racing licence.

The event is open to riders from other centres holding a valid Cycling New Zealand racing licence, but they may not be eligible for medals.

Southland riders wishing to be eligble to represent Southland at the National Track Championships are required to take part in the Southland Track Championships. Special consideration can be given by the selectors in cases where riders were unable to participate, but this is at the discretion of the selectors.

For results from previous editions of the event, please visit the archive section of the website here.


The event programme can be viewed here
Friday's session starts with U13 races (and a couple of record attempts) from 4:20pm, with the main session starting at 5:30pm.
Saturday's session starts at 9am.
Sunday's sessions starts at 9am.


Entries are now closed. For an entry list (correct as of 01/12/2020) click here.


The results will be posted here after the conclusion of each session:
Session 1 - Friday evening (Record attempts) (Photos)
Session 2 - Saturday morning (Photos)
Session 3 - Saturday afternoon
Session 4 - Sunday morning (Photos)

Spectator information

Spectator entry is free for under 16s, and a gold coin for over 16s.
Please note that only riders, officials, and squad coaches are allowed in the infield.


An open track session will be available on Friday 4 December from 1-3pm. Sign in will be at the top of the tunnel, at a cost of $10 per rider.


-Pursuit/500m/Kilo riders will be seeded according to the time provided with their entry.

-Medals will be awarded to Southland riders based upon the results in each age category.

-Masters timed events (Time Trial, Individual Pursuit) are now categorised in five year age brackets, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, etc.

-Masters bunch events (Scratch Race, Points Race, Keirin) are categorised in ten year age brackets, MM1= 35-44, MM2= 45-54, MM3= 55+.

-Southland Championship medals in pursuit will be awarded according to the riders qualifying time, if there are no Southlanders in the final rides.

-Southland Championship medals in sprints will be awarded according to the riders qualifying time, if unplaced in final rides.

-The Open Madision is open to all riders, Men and Women, U19 and above, e.g. U19, Elite, Masters.

-Distances for endurance events may be subject to change depending on entry numbers.

-Grades for endurance events may be merged depending on entry numbers.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5