Date: Tuesday, 17 March 2015
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Jon & EllesseEight medals, including six titles and three national records made for a successful New Zealand age group track championships for the Andrews family.

The Wanaka-based father and daughter combination of Jon and Ellesse Andrews were regulars on the podium at Cambridge's Avantidrome.

Jon, a former New Zealand representative at world championship, Olympic and Commonwealth Games level, claimed four titles in the masters men's 2 category, including a national record in the 500m time trial.

Ellesse was expected to dominate the under-17 girls' division and she didn't disappoint.

The Mt Aspiring College pupil won the 500m time trial and the 2000m individual pursuit, both in New Zealand record time.

She also won silver in the 5km scratch race and the team sprint with Nicole Marshall.

In all, Southland won 21 titles to comprehensively claim the Points Shield, the trophy for the most successful centre across the national elite and age group championships, for a record eighth year.

Masters world champion Erin Criglington won all of her events, taking gold in the masters women 1 category for the 500m time trial, sprint, 5000m pursuit, 5km scratch race and keirin.

Team Sprinters Track Nationals 2015Corbin Strong headlined a powerful Southland under-17 boys' contingent, winning the points race, coming third in the individual pursuit and teaming up with Kain Bowles and Mitchell Morris to win the team sprint with a NZ record of 49.1.

With scratch race champion Samuel Miller, the four then broke the New Zealand record on the way to winning the 3000m team pursuit with another NZ record of 3.21.

Cycling Southland results from 2015 national age group track cycling championships, Cambridge - March 11-15:

U15 girls' 500m time trial

2. Emily Paterson 39.501

U15 boys' 500m time trial

2. Keegan Knipe 38.006

MW2 500m time trial

1 Jacqui Dearlove 41.120

MW1 500m time trial

1 Erin Criglington 38.660

MM3 500m time trial

3 Neil Familton 36.956

MM2 500m time trial

1 Jon Andrews 33.958 (NZR)

MM1 750m time trial

2 Brett Roulston 51.559

U17 girls' 500m time trial

1 Ellesse Andrews 36.337 (NZR)

U17 boys' 500m time trial

2 Mitchell Morris 34.690

U17 girls' 2000m pursuit

1 Ellesse Andrews 2:32.572 (NZR)

U17B pursuit

3 Corbin Strong

MW1 2000m pursuit

1 Erin Criglington

MW2 pursuit

3 Jacqui Dearlove

MM3 2000m individual pursuit

3 Neil Familton 2.28.799

U15 girls' derby

2 Emily Paterson

MW1 5km scratch

1 Erin Criglington

MM1 scratch

Brendan Akeroyd 2

U17 girls' 5km scratch race

2 Ellesse Andrews

U17 boys' 7.5km scratch race

1 Samuel Miller 9.48.049

MM2 Scratch Final

U15G 5km points

3 Emily Paterson

1 Jon Andrews

U17 boys' points race

1 Corbin Strong

MM3 Scratch Final

2 Neil Familton

U15 boys Derby Final

3 Keegan Knipe

MM2 Keirin Final

1 Jon Andrews

MW1 & 2 Keirin Final

1 Erin Criglington

MW1 Sprint

1 Erin Criglington

U17 boys' Team Sprint Final

1 Southland (Kain Bowles, Corbin Strong, Mitchell Morris) (NZR 49.184)

WWM 1 & 2 TS Final

1 Southland (Erin Criglington, Jacqui Dearlove)

MM1, 2 & 3 TS Final

1 Southland (Brett Roulston, Jon Andrews, Roger Nicholas)

U17 girls TS Final

2 Southland (Ellesse Andrews, Nicole Marshall)

U17 boys' 3000m Team Pursuit Final

1 Southland (Mitchell Morris, Kain Bowles, Corbin Strong, Hamish Keast, Samuel Miller) (NZR - 3.21.728)

Article courtesy The Southland Times - thanks Nathan!

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5