Date: Friday, 30 July 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Report by Jennifer Muhl

The sixth Baxter and Neilson was a tight battle in most of the divisions.  

Everyone rode well and very competitively. The racing consisted of a time trial, a points race and a short scratch race. The time trials were very fast for this time of year and placings were decided by hundredths of second. In the points race the sprints were hotly contested with all the riders pushing themselves to the limit every time. The scratch races were short and many riders sprinted right from the gun. All the races were fast and furious. 

Maddie Gough rode well to take out the jersey for U13 girls.  A close battle in the U13 boys between Josh Carpenter and Hamish Beadle resulted in Hamish taking home the jersey although Josh had the fastest time trial. Sophie Mcmurdo once again dominated the u15 girls with Bronwyn Graham just beating Brooke Brazier for second place.

Michael Culling is still on form and beat all the other U15 boys to come first while Nick Kergzou was a clear second. The U17 women’s grade was a very close fought battle between Jen Muhl, Kate Dunlevey and Georgia Timpany. All of the girls got a first, a second and a third place in the races and were tied on 13 points. However the jersey went to Georgia as she had the fastest time trial.

A similar situation arose in the U17 men’s division with the first three place getters, Tom Beadle, Simon Cook and Josh Haggerty, tied on 10 points with the jersey going to Tom Beadle who had the fastest time trial of the night.

Baxter & Neilson Winners - July 2010

July 2010 Baxter & Neilson Winners - Back Row (left to right): Georgia Timpany, Sophie McMurdo, Michael Culling and Tom Beadle. Front Row: Hamish Beadle, Maddie Gough.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5