Date: Sunday, 11 September 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland


Beast of the East 10-09-201110/09/2011 - Fine warm conditions greeted the 51 riders that took part in Saturday's 50km Beast of the East road race which started from Te Tipua school.

A grade started with 10 riders and the tempo  solid from the start. The first time up the Brydone - Glencoe road hill sorted out some of the riders with 3 dropping off the pace, at the front of the race Brad Tuhi  had a gap on the rest of the field and lead going into the start of the second lap. The field eventually wound him in and it was strong man Mike White who took out the race by a comfortable margin from Luke McPherson 2nd and Liam Aitcheson 3rd.

B grade had a good field of 15 riders, it was Derick Tan and Bruce Jones who took it to the remaining riders first time up the  Brydone - Glencoe road hill and it took to the start of the second lap for these 2 to be caught. Tan continued to attack but eventually it came down to a sprint finish with Logan Havenaar taking the win from veterans Dave Beadle 2nd and Ray Robinson 3rd.  

24 riders lined up in C grade, again the pace was solid through out the race with different people stirring things along, once again it came down to a tight sprint finish with Gary Steedman edging out Gary Perkins for the win, Zane Butson came in 3rd.

Nicola Stevens and Mary Marshall set out in the 1 lap D grade with Nicola taking a comfortable win from Mary.

My thanks go to STMS Lindsay Tait and our marshalls for the day Wally Kopae, Shirleen Rollo and Allison Timpany and also Robin Criglington who made my job alot easier.


2011 Winter Racing Series Points Series Leaders 

Updated 10/09/2011

A Grade Points Placing
Luke McPherson 67 1
Brehan Cairns 53 2
Matt Zenovich 49 3
Blake Tait-Jones 36 4
Hamish Presbury 35 5
B Grade    
Aaron Sinclair 53 1
Dave Beadle 48 2
Ray Robinson 46 3
Steve Brough 43 4
Andrew Lienert 42 5
C Grade    
Gary Steadman 66 1
Dave Simpson 57 2
Erin Criglington 55 3
Max Anderson 55 4
Colin Horton 46 5
D Grade    
Fergus Canny 80 1
Nicola Stevens 77 2
Mary Marshall 56 3
Kylea Gough 20 4
Tony Shaw 15 5

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5