Date: Monday, 01 October 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

A very warm, but blustery day greeted us at Browns for the Brown’s Circuit Race on Saturday and with 88 riders across all grades, the racing promised to be exciting!

The gusty conditions played a significant part in the result for each grade, with strong winds on the back of the course shattering the fields. 

A Grade set off at a blistering pace, with a four rider break – including Matt Randall, Dylan Bennett, Robert Huisman and Pieter Bulling - pulling away on the first lap, completing the first 27kms in 35 minutes.  The break stayed away with Bennett taking the win with an excellent sprint finish, from Bulling, Randall and Huisman.

B Grade followed a similar pattern with a breakaway in the first lap, holding on to the lead to take the win, with Geoff van Dam taking 1st spot in an excellent ride, with Aaron Sinclair in 2nd, Andy McIntyre in 3rd, and Wayne Miller in 4th – staying away from the chasers, despite an untimely puncture.  Good work boys!!

C Grade stuck together a little more in the windy conditions, with Erin Criglington showing a superb turn of speed to sprint in the boys and take out C Grade, from Tim Maynard, Tony Raggett and Daryl Haggerty.  Well done Erin!

HUGE thank you to all our Marshalls and other helpers – very much appreciated.

Finally, I am most happy to report that after getting growly at the start about road behaviour, there were no reports of dangerous riding or crossing the centre line.  FINALLY! Thank you all ... keep up the good work because I (or your race manager) don’t want to have to get grumpy before the race every week!

Next week is the Yunca Tour so there is no racing (but please come and help!) and the week after is the Great Southern Cycle Challenge.  And don’t forget Wednesday Worlds starts again on 17th October – yah!!

A Grade
1         Dillon Bennett 1:12:50
2         Pieter Bulling
3         Matt Randall
4         Robert Huisman

B Grade
1         Geoff van Dam
2         Aaron Sinclair
3         Andy McIntyre
4         Wayne Miller

C Grade
1         Erin Criglington
2         Tim Maynard
3         Tony  Raggett
4         Daryl Haggerty

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5