Date: Wednesday, 02 May 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

A strong Southland contingent will line up this week at the 2012 RaboDirect Club Road Nationals in the Hawke's Bay.

Racing starts on Thursday with the Time Trials for all age groups followed by road races over Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

First away for Cycling Southland will be Josh Carpenter at 9:03am. Carpenter will be last away in the Under 15 Boys courtesy of his fifth placed finish at last year's event.

He will be followed immediately by Brooke Brazier who made her return to competitive racing two weeks ago at the Southland Time Trial championships after an injury-forced lay-off following Track Nationals. Brooke is first away in the Under 17 Girls with Southland Time Trial champion Laura Heywood and Georgia Vessey to follow later in the 33-strong field. Canterbury's Holly Edmondston is last away as the top seed.

Four members of the Junior Worlds NZ squad anchor the Under 19 Women's Time Trial including Wakatipu's Sophie Williamson while Southland's Jennifer Muhl starts mid-field.

The Under 17 Boys is again one of the largest field with 46 starters, including Southland's Michael Culling and Nick Kergozou.

Ten Under 23 starters roll off the start ramp after 11am, including the Southland TT champ Brehan Cairns and the morning is completed by Phillipa Gray in the Tandem Para-Cycling time trial.

The Masters categories are next up with Cycling Southland's newest recruit Andrew Ward riding in the Masters 3 Men just before 1pm.

The final category away is the Under 19 Men with 41 starters with a heavy southern influence. Josh Haggerty, Tom Beadle and Southland TT champion Matt Zenovich line up alongside Wakatipu's Ryan Mackay, Liam Aitcheson and Tom Vessey. Counties-Manakau's Nick Bain who medaled at the Oceania Time Trial champs in March and Canterbury's Dylan Kennett complete the field.

We will keep you updated with results as they come to hand throughout Thursday. Good luck team!

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5