Date: Tuesday, 27 February 2018

Cycling New Zealand annual awards announced ad huge congratulations to Eddie Dawkins, Tom Sexton and Corbin Strong for a great year on the bike and the deserved recognition.

Team of the Year
Men’s Team Sprint (Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster, Eddie Dawkins)

Winning the World title for the 2nd consecutive year, the 3 times World Champion Team Sprint team is the Top team for the 2017 season.

Junior Women and Female Emerging Talent

Ellesse Andrews

The current world champion and world record holder for the individual pursuit see’s Ellesse take out the Junior Women’s Track rider of the year. Along with this Ellesse was a member of the silver medal winning Teams pursuit team. Her season capped by taking out the Emerging Talent award at the recent Halberg Award ceremony.

Junior Men
Corbin Strong

A strong Junior World Championship campaign see’s Corbin Strong take out the Junior Men Track Rider of the year. During the competition he received a bronze medal in the Teams Pursuit followed up with 5th in the Omnium and 7th with Aaron Wyllie in the Madison.

Elite Women

Racquel Sheath

Racquel continues to develop as a leading rider in the HP programme. A key performance during the 2017 season was a fine bronze medal in the Teams Pursuit followed up by development in bunch racing events with 4th in the Madison at World Championships and a win at the Santiago World Cup.

Elite Men
Ethan Mitchell.

Known as a key element in the World Championship team sprint team, Ethan continues his development as a sprint athlete with a breakout bronze medal in the sprint at the Honk Kong World Championships. The first World Championship medal in this event.

Emerging Talent

Ellesse Andrews and Tom Sexton

Tom continues his development in the High Performance squad. He has achieved great performances partnered with Campbell Stewart with wins in the Madison at the Santiago World Cup and the Oceania Championships.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5