Date: Saturday, 11 October 2014
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Eddie silver at OceasSouthland sprinter Eddie Dawkins claimed the silver medal in the sprint on the third night of finals at the Oceania Track Cycling championships in Adelaide today.

He was edged by Commonwealth Games keirin gold medallist Matthew Glaetzer in the final, after disposing of two-time world champion Shane Perkins (AUS) in the semifinals.

Glaetzer, who bypassed last month’s UCI qualifying event in New Zealand, was the in-form rider throughout. He topped qualifying in 9.838s, the only rider under the 10 second barrier.  Dawkins was third fastest in 10.049s with Sam Webster seventh in 10.165s.

Webster was edged by Glaetzer in the quarterfinal but went on to win the fifth-eighth place final.

Dawkins won his quarterfinal after Australia’s Mitchell Bullen was relegated for blocking.

Australia’s talented brothers Scott Law and Jackson Law dominated the omnium competition finishing first and second with Aaron Gate the best of the Kiwis in third with Cameron Karwowski in fifth.

Waikato’s Jaime Nielsen and Racquel Sheath are in joint second place after three rounds of the women’s omnium, led by Australia’s Annette Edmondson, the world and Olympic bronze medallist.

Sheath was second in the scratch race and third in the elimination while Nielsen was third in the individual pursuit and fourth in the elimination.

Meanwhile Manawatu’s Michaela Drummond leads the junior women’s omnium after three closely fought rounds.

The final day of competition will see the completion of the women’s omnium competition, women’s sprint, men’s keirin and points races for all classes.

Day 3 results:


Men Sprint: Matthew Glaetzer (AUS) 1, Eddie Dawkins (NZL) 2, Shane Perkins (AUS) 3.

Qualifying: Glaetzer 9.838, 1; Lewis 10.029, 2; Dawkins 10.049, 3. Also: Webster 10.165, 8; Matt Archibald 10.304, 11; Ethan Mitchell 10.324, 12. Quarterfinals:  Glaetzer bt Sam Webster, Perkins bt Lewis, Dawkins bt Bullen, Schmid bt Constable. Semifinals: Glaetzer bt Jacob Schmid (AUS), Dawkins bt Perkins. 5th to 8th: Webster 1, Bullen 2, Lewis 3, Constable 4.

Men Omnium final: Scott Law (AUS) 225 points, 1, Jackson Law (AUS) 205, 2; Aaron Gate (NZL) 196, 3. Also: Cameron Karwowski (NZL) 181, equal 5.

Women Omnium after 3 rounds: Annette Edmondson (AUS) 120 points, 1; Jaime Nielsen (NZL) 100, 2; Racquel Sheath (NZL) 100, 3.


Women Sprint, gold: Courtney Field (AUS) 1, Tahlay Christie (AUS) 2, Brit Jackson (AUS) 3, Emma Cumming (NZL) 4. Qualifying: Christie 11.677, 1; Field 11.735, 2; Cumming 12.211, 3.

Men Qualifying: Derek Radziewicz (AUS) 10.565, 1; Rowley 10.968, 2; Knipe 10.994, 3.

Men Team Pursuit: Australia 1, New Zealand 2, Victoria Institute 3.

Women omnium, points after 3 rounds: Michaela Drummond (NZL) 112, 1; Chloe Moran (AUS) 110, 2; Nicola MacDonald (AUS) 108, 3.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5