Date: Thursday, 13 January 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Gore to Invercargill 2011 - Marc Ryan claims the 2011 Classic titleBike NZ’s High Performance squad has been put through its paces on the track in Invercargill this past week, but it didn’t stop their star riders from shining on the road in the 81st running of New Zealand’s longest-running road classic, the ILT-sponsored Gore to Invercargill.

It was a good night for the scratch riders as Marc Ryan pipped Jason Christie in the sprint finish to claim the prestigious title with Westley Gough in third spot.

After starting the race 27 minutes from the limit riders, the scratch bunch made short work of the 67 kilometre race from Gore to Invercargill, assisted greatly by the strong south west winds which meant the front markers had to battle their way into the elements all the way to Invercargill.

Gore to Invercargill 2011 - The Scratch bunch rolls through MatauraWith three Team RadioShack kits in the final bunch (Jesse Sergent, Sam Bewley and Clinton Avery, a late addition to the quality field), the odds were always high the win would go to the BikeNZ HP team. 

Ryan’s final kick proved enough to earn him both the overall title and the Fastest Time while Sequoia Cooper rode strongly to claim the Fastest Woman victory in classy company and Mitchell Podmore was first Junior rider home.

Gore to Invercargill 2011 - At the halfway pointThe event kicked off Cycling Southland’s New Year Cycling Series which continues with the ILT New Year Track Carnival on Friday and Saturday nights from 7pm and the Ascot Park Hotel Criterium on Sunday from 11am.

Tickets for the Track Carnival are only $5 with children under 12 free are are available from Stadium Southland or from the door on both nights.

2011 ILT Gore to Invercargill Full Results

1st Marc Ryan
2nd Jason Christie
3rd Westley Gough
4th Sam Bewley
Gore to Invercargill 2011 - Over the Seaward Downs Hill Climb5th Logan Edgar
6th Cameron Karwowski
7th Mark Spessot
8th Brad Evans
9th Justin Stott
10th Garry Smith

Fastest Time Marc Ryan
Fastest Woman Sequoia Cooper
Fastest Junior Dylan Kennett
Brydone Hill Climb Rebecca O’Donnell
Seaward Downs Hill Jeff Clearwater

For more information on the New Year Cycling Series click here.


© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5