Date: Tuesday, 01 November 2016

A field of 29 riders was split into five groups for the 76km handicap over two laps of the Grove Bush – Springhills circuit on Saturday.

Cool conditions with a freshening breeze contributed to several riders completing only one circuit. Seven break riders had only two minutes start over scratch riders Brendan Akeroyd, Sam Miller and Jack Pedler and were caught and passed at the 20km mark.

Limit riders led by Max Anderson, Jim Phair, Allan Milne, Wayne Murchland and Nicola Stevens were working well together and held a 12 minute lead over scratch after the first ascent of the Rakahouka Hill. The strongest 2nd limit riders Eddie Griffiths and Fenton Lambent were caught and rode with scratch as they came through Hedgehope for the second time.

At the Springhills turn it was down to just Brendan and Sam chasing limit. The catch was made 2km from the finish with Brendan having dropped Sam and riding away solo to the finish.

Allan proved to be the strongest limit rider with Sam rolling Max right on the line for 3rd.

Results 1st and fastest time Brendan Akeroyd ( 1hr 57mins)
2nd Allan Milne
3rd Sam Miller
4th Max Anderson
5th Jim Phair
6th Nicola Stevens
7th Eddie Griffiths

Report courtesy race manager Neil Sutherland

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5