Date: Monday, 16 January 2017

Strong winds buffeted the 30 starters of this year's Invercargill to Browns Road Race.

The remnants of the scratch bunch began making in-roads to the various bunches across the rolling terrain of Springhills before Corbin Strong, Matt Zenovich and Josh Haggerty rode clear at Tussock Creek.

Strong was the first to enter on to the back straight of the grass track before his more experienced co-markers made their move over the last lap. It was former Junior Worlds medallist Ha...ggerty who proved to strong to take the win and fastest time honours from Zenovich.

While in the grass track events Brendan Akeroyd held on to a close victory to win the prestigious Ray O'Connor Memorial over three laps.

A large field of juniors took to the grass track events throughout the 119th Browns Sports day. Josh Miller was in good form throughout the day contesting the junior track events off scratch and taking both the 400 and 800m races.

Thanks to Jesco Hydraulics and Findlater Sawmilling for their respective sponsorships of this year's event.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5