Date: Friday, 19 July 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Junior Racing kicked off in this ‘new’ season with a flourish, with the young guns putting on a show of outstanding skill, speed, and tactics, topped off by a Madison for those who had taken part in the Madison Training through June and July.

In Division 3 it was great to see our up and coming champions carving it up, with some speedy racing– well done to this crew who have been putting in the hard yards during the ‘off’ season, and have improved hugely.  Great to see Nicole Marshall slotting in so well and certainly keeping the more experienced riders on their toes!

Division 2 was dominated by Makayla Smith, who is showing great form leading into the Baxter & Neilson Series and Yunca Tour.  Kain Bowles and Emma Cumming also featured strongly, with a much improved Matt Nunn also showing his hand in Division 2.

In Division 1 the usual suspects of Tom Sexton, Hayden Strong, Hamish Beadle and Brayden Stephens kept the race speed at Mach 9, but it was absolutely fantastic to see a big group of our up & coming riders right up their mixing it up with them and challenging them right to the line  - this in turn will increase the performance level of all riders. Great stuff!!

Finally, the Madison was the icing on the cake of a brilliant night.  The phenomenal speed over the opening laps took its toll on some the pairings, and the pace had certainly calmed to a little by the end of the race!  There were some good learnings about Madison in the racing environment, and it was awesome to see all the training had paid off, with good safe racing, and confident changes, even at the very fast pace.

A big thank you to all the helpers, and well done to all riders.

Racing is scheduled every Friday from now on, with the first in our Baxter & Neilson Omnium Series scheduled for August 2nd. 

Race 1 – Scratch Race

Division 3

1 Nicole Marshall

2 Emily Paterson

3 Hunter Gough

Division 2

1 Makayla Smith

2 Matt Nunn

3 Emma Cumming

Division 1

1 Hayden Strong

2 Hamish Beadle

3 Tom Sexton

Race 2 – Point-a-Lap

Division 3

1 Ronan Ferguson – 4

2 Emily Paterson – 1

3 Nicole Marshall – 1 

Division 2

1 Makayla Smith - 4

2 Emma Cumming – 2

3 Kain Bowles – 1

Division 1

1 Tom Sexton – 3

2 Hamish Beadle – 3

3 Brayden Stephens & Hayden Strong - 1

Race 3 – Team Sprint 

1 Emily Paterson, Emma Cumming, Tom Sexton – 1.00.152

2 Nicole Marshall, Bronwyn Graham, Hamish Beadle – 1.00.26

3 Bradley Jenner, Kain Bowles, Bradly Knipe – 1.00.938

Race 4 – Derbys / Keirins

Division 3 750m Derby

1 Emily Paterson

2 Nicole Marshall

3 Bradley Jenner

Division 2 Keirin

1 Kain Bowles

2 Makayla Smith

3 Emma Cumming 

Division 1 Keirin – Race 1

1 Hamish Beadle

2 Brayden Stephens

3 Tom Sexton

Division 1 Keirin – Race 2

1 Jake Milligan

2 Samuel Miller

3 Mitchell Morris

Race 5 – Madison 

1 Tom Sexton & Bronwyn Graham

2 Mitchell Morris & Bradly Knipe

3 Hayden Strong & Makayla Smith

4 Brayden Stephens & Emma Cumming

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5