Date: Saturday, 24 September 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

John Kissell wins Cruickshank MemorialIn a sharp contrast to the previous week’s road racing conditions, the weather gods turned down the heat and cranked up the rain and wind for Cycling Southland’s MLT-sponsored  Cruickshank Memorial handicap road race on Saturday.

Over 40 riders braved the elements for what turned out to be some very spirited racing around the challenging Mataura/Te Tipua circuit. Due to the inclement weather the proposed 3 lap 75km handicap race for the seniors was reduced to 2 laps. The weather took its toll during the race which saw a few very cold and tired riders withdraw after the first lap. The remaining riders slugged it out to the finish. A still sick and recovering Jamie Cunningham our Scottish import was heard to say “now these are my kind of conditions.”

John Kissell claimed the victory from Amy Marshall and Mike Cooper. Cameron Karwowski registered the fastest time, leading the scratch bunch over the line in a time of 1 hour 9 minutes, 50 seconds.


John Kissell - Winner 1:28:52
Amy Marshall
Mike Cooper
Martin Lohrey
Jamie Cunningham 
Kylie Gough 
Nicola Stevens
Max Andersen 
Alan Milne
Tony Ragget
Erin Criglington
Dave Simpson
Cameron Karwowski (fastest time)
Matt Zenovich
Nick Atkinson
Tom Beadle
Shirleen Rollo
Geoff Van Dam
Paddy Daly
Shane Fletcher
Gabby Vermunt
Neil Cleghorn

Finish Video


Video courtesy of Kathleen Simpson

Further video available here:

Limit 2 Start

On The Road

Start of Lap 2

Many thanks to Robyn Criglington, Waine Harding (handicapper), Lindsay Jones (our man on the STMS), Tony Hammington and all the corner marshalls. Also thanks to the Mataura Licencing Trust for supporting the race. 

Phil Culling
Race Manager


© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5