Date: Wednesday, 02 May 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

An experienced team of Kiwi track officials will be rubbing shoulders alongside some of the world’s best after being appointed assistant commissaires for the UCI Juniors Track World Championships being held in Invercargill in August.

Four Southlanders are among the 10-strong team just appointed, including husband and wife team Erin Criglington and Neil Jamieson, along with Jono Muhl and Sier Vermunt.

BikeNZ Road and Track technical panel convenor Mark Ireland said while international events allowed the athletes to rub shoulders with the best in the world, the Junior Worlds was providing New Zealand commissaires with a very rare opportunity to nurture their skills even further.

“With Australia providing the only real opportunity for our commissaires to grow and develop alongside their international counterparts, this event is really about getting exposure to the very best of world standard commissaires, including the top Europeans.

“Those appointed in the New Zealand team come from centres across the country so they will be able to take those skills back home with them to share with their fellow officials and future volunteers – it’s a fantastic opportunity for the ongoing benefit of cycling in this country.”

Invercargill’s very own regional, national masters title holder and aspiring world record cyclist Erin Criglington said she had work colleagues running into her office wondering what the excitement was when she found out she and husband Neil had both been appointed as assistant commissaires. 

“It’s a great opportunity to learn from international counterparts of the very highest standard and learn more valuable skills. I’m all for learning more whenever you can and the Junior Worlds is a unique opportunity to do just that right here at home!”

Appointed Assistant Commissaires for the 2012 Junior Track World Championships being held at the Southland Velodrome from Wednesday 22 to Sunday 26 August are: Graeme Bell (Waikato-BOP), Jan Carol (Auckland), Erin Criglington (Southland), Hamish Ferguson (Canterbury), Brian Harford (Tasman), Neil Jamieson (Southland), Jonathan Muhl (Southland), Seir Vermunt (Southland), Mark Ireland (Waikato-BOP), Tim Whitehouse (West Coast North Ireland WCNI).
Reserves: Ken Bewley (Waikato-BOP), Steve Hurring (Otago).

For more information about the Junior Worlds or to purchase tickets online visit:

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5