Date: Monday, 05 September 2016

Mild conditions greeted a field of more than 60 again on Saturday for the Makarewa-Winton-Makarewa Graded Road Race.

The A, B and C grades all tackled a 52km circuit, while juniors took on a 20km course.

A Grade was taken out by Hamish Keast in a time of 1hr 16min from Sam Miller, Hamish Beadle and Lake Tait-Jones.

Red Burnett had the goods to take out B Grade from Ray Robinson ina  time of 1hr 19mins with Dave Beadle 3rd and Eddie Griffiths 4th.

C Grade saw the return - after considerable time out from Saturday Racing - of Brendan Monaghan to take the win from Max Anderson, Darryl Haggerty and Wayne Murchland in a time of 1 hour 27mins

The junior race saw Hunter Gough make a great bridge and break for the win just a few kilometres from the finish line in a time of 55mins 40sec. He was closely followed in by Jaz McLeod, Cody Harvey, Camryn Akeroyd, Marshall Erwood, Hayley Paterson, Rhylee Akeroyd and Natalie Green.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5