Date: Monday, 14 April 2014
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Alex McGregor won yesterday's elite round of the cycling series on the South Island's West Coast near Hokitika, while series leader Cameron Karwowski (H&J's Outdoor World Avanti Plus) was fourth, enough to hold on to the elite series leader's jersey.

The Dunedin rider attacked on the final lap of the energy sapping Blue Spur circuit managing to break free of a large bunch as riders hit the main road 10km from the finish of the Benchmark Homes event.

The chasers ran out of road as McGregor (Calder Stewart) held on to win the 135km race in 3:08.27, with Dan Barry (Tasman Wheelers) just edging out Brad Evans (Calder Stewart) to win the bunch sprint to claim second, seven seconds behind McGregor.

In the masters race Lee Johnstone (Warmup Cycling Team) won a large bunch sprint comfortably after some good work from his team-mates Tony Gibson and Greg Thompson who covered a number of attacks and kept the pace high over the final 15 kilometres.

Johnstone won the 105km race in 2:36 with Scott Wilder (Dad's Army) second and Phil Patterson (Kiwi Style Bike Tours) third.

Johnstone's win saw him claim the master's 45 to 49 series leader's jersey with Wilder holding on to the 35-44 series jersey.

Andre Chappel (Thule) did enough to take the 50-plus leaders jersey off Cycle World's Ray Dunstan.

Sharlotte Lucas (Benchmark Homes) won the women's race in 2hr 55min, holding off a charging Elyse Fraser (Benchmark Homes) and Reta Trotman (Cycle World Fairweather) in a sprint after getting the early jump on the final corner leading into the finishing straight.


Elite men: 1, Alex McGregor 3:08:27, 2 Daniel Barry @7 seconds, 3 Brad Evans @7 seconds. Series elite leader: Cameron Karwowski. Series under 23 leader: Brad Evans. Winning team: Team Calder Stewart.

Masters Men: 35-44 - 1, Scott Wilder 2:36:08; 2, Justin Sims same time; 3 Phil Patterson same time

45-49 - 1, Lee Johnstone 2:36:07, 2 Blair Stuthridge @ 1 second; 3, Paul Gough same time.

50+ - 1, Jorge Englebrecht 2:36:08, 2 Andre Chappel @ 3 seconds; 3, Jeremy Heathfield @ 1 second.

Masters series leaders: 35-44; Scott Wilder, 45-49; Lee Johnstone, 50+; Andre Chappel, Winner team; Team Thule Cycling.

Women: 1, Sharlotte Lucas, 2:55:18; 2, Elyse Fraser @ 2 seconds; 3; Reta Trotman same time.

Series leaders: Senior; Elyse Fraser. Under 19; Georgia Catterick. Master; Tracey Clark. Winning team; Cycle World Fairweather.

- © Fairfax NZ News

© Copyright 2022 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5