Date: Wednesday, 19 February 2020

It was good to see summer back for Saturday’s Mend Physio Myross Bush graded race. Thirty-nine riders were greeted with hot sunny conditions, which matched the racing over 5 grades.
A grade completed three laps of intense racing with the experience and strength of Fraser Hewett prevailing over the field with Navarh Brotherston second and Hamish Keast third.
B grade started with some early attacks before Alan Strong finally made the decisive break up the road; he was eventually joined by Morgan Borrie and David McCormick. McCormick punctured leaving the other two to work together, Borrie proved to be the powerhouse taking the win from Strong with Marshall Erwood in third from the chasing bunch.
In the C grade, the racing was intense with young Tom Kerr stirring things up, the race came down to a bunch kick with the undoubted speed of Ray Robinson again surging him to the win from the youngsters Tom Kerr and Hunter Thompson.
In D grade, Kayne Borrie took the win over Frankie Thomson, with Finn Edwards in third, while E grade honours went to Poppy McIvor, with George Thomson in second and Lachie Kelly in third.
Mend Physio not only put on a great barbeque for the riders but also supplied prizes for the most aggressive rider in each grade, with the awards going to:

A grade – Ronan Shearing

B grade – Alan Strong

C grade – Tom Kerr

D grade – Nicole

E grade – Poppy McIvor

Race manager Aaron Sinclair thanked Lynette Mattingly for sharing the race manager role, allowing him to race, Robin for taking the entries and Lindsay Jones and Kenny for the STMS.

© Copyright 2022 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5