Date: Saturday, 22 January 2011
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Senior Club Racing 2011

22/01/2011 - Welcome back to club racing 2011! Racing started off fast and furious. The short 8km block was a nice distance with a sprint each lap, ideal training for the upcoming Southland Track Champs. Anyone who had taken a break over the festive season was feeling the pressure. A and B Grade fought it out over 6 laps and C-Grade 5 laps. Conditions were perfect, only a slight Easterly wind.

8 riders in A-grade contested the points. Hamish Tomlinson and Brehan Cairns won most of the sprints. Only Shane Fletcher managed to sneak over to win the 5th sprint. Mike White and Shane fought out the minor placing.

21 riders in B-grade thrashed it out over the course. An accident on the 4th lap slowed things up until it was clear that no one was injured. Unfortunate for Dave Watkins and Ray Robbie, they’ll be up and racing again next week!

Mixed results in this grade Steve Brough and Stu McDonald showed good form, Rikki Griffin and Neil Familton also looked strong in stages.

C-grade was equally as competitive (14 riders), Luke McPherson, Daryl Haggerty and Colin Horton dominated the points with Zane Butson collecting some of the minor placing.


1st Hamish Tomlinson
2nd Brehan Cairns
3rd Mike White

1st Steve Brough    
2nd Stu McDonald    
3rd Rikki Griffin    

1st Luke McPherson
2nd Daryl Haggerty
3rd Colin Horton

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5