Date: Saturday, 04 December 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Saturday 4th December started bright and clear and by the time we arrived in Lumsden, the sun was out and the day was warm with very little wind. The STMS team had already prepared the course for us.  There were 42 riders keen to ride the 76 km circuit through Lumsden, Mossburn and Dipton and then up and over the Josephville Hill.


The A grade field started with 12 riders and was together until the back road beneath the windmills, when the first major split occurred. The main group came together but the undulating and sometimes steep climbs were too tough for some to stay on. Young Matt Zenovich broke way with 30 km to go and this proved to be decisive, still away by the top of Josephville Hill and just holding on to take the win from the fast finishing bunch.


The B grade field of 16 riders were together until the undulations once again proved a good test for the climbers. Attacks were neutralised and the front half of the group was together for the bunch sprint at the end.


The C grade field of 14 riders split around the back of White Cliffs but a small group of 6 riders were together to compete for line honours.


Thanks to the STMS team, the marshalls (Wayne Murchland, Sarah Tomlinson, Aainn Cairns, Lindsay Jones and the perennial Mr and Mrs Culling) and the lead/tail vehicles (Robin Criglington, Helen Presbury and Matt’s mum, who kindly followed B grade and missed seeing her son solo up the road).



A Grade

First                       Matt Zenovich                   Time: 1 hr 58.12

Second                 Dillon Bennett  

Third                     Brehan Cairns

Fourth                  Lee Evans

Fifth                      Logan Edgar


B Grade

First                       Michael Culling                  Time: 2 hr 03.01

Second                 Aaron Sinclair

Third                     Ray Robinson

Fourth                  Bruce Jones

Fifth                      Dale Tye


C Grade

First                       Dave Maynard                  Time 2 hr 11.59

Second                 Erin Criglington

Third                     Tim Maynard

Fourth                  Jeff Clearwater

Fifth                      Alastair Burnett



Paul Tomlinson - Manager (thanks Paul great effort)

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5