Date: Saturday, 01 May 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Results Saturday 1st May Club Race

01/05/10 - Tisbury Circuit x 3. “To ride or not to ride” was the question on a few riders minds this week the threat of getting wet was definitely a probability. There weren’t many riders at registration time so it didn’t justify having a race, it was decided to have a bunch ride instead. Cancel STMS and ride for free! Well that was the plan, last minute arrivals put numbers up to 30 riders. Race was on! 

It was going to be a handicap race three laps finishing at Tisbury, five groups nine minutes from limit to scratch. Conditions were tough in the wind, luckily no rain.  A few riders struggled with the pace and had to withdraw. Bunches came together gradually as the race progressed Neil Jamieson, Mike Tou third group away caught the second group in the first lap. Strong efforts from Dave Beadle and Shane Fletcher on scratch had them catching the majority of the field in the last five km’s. Sprint time!

New man Matt Dodds who rode off limit managed to hang on and win from a fast finishing bunch of eight riders.

Placings below:
1st Matt Dodds  1:19:26 
2nd Brendan Monaghan
3rd Dave Beadle
4th Garry Perkins
5th Shane Fletcher (Again)
6th John Archer
7th Robert Huisman
8th Neil Jaimeson
9th Allan Milne
10th Dave Simpson

Fastest time Dave Beadle 1:11:10

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5