Date: Saturday, 31 July 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Ideal conditions greeted riders in the first race of the new road season, on Saturday.

Over 100 riders  turned up to  ride in the Wintons Middle Pub Graded Race, the first in a points series to be raced over several  races. The Junior and Senior races were combined, a new move to bring together all the riders onto the same circuit.

The senior results were as follows:

The A and B grade  racers did two laps of the Circuit from Winton through Browns across to Centre bush and then back to Winton. The  55km A Grade race was won by the dominant performance  of  three riders who had escaped from the large field. Dillon Bennett won in  a time of 1.22:58. He was closely followed by Marcel Baird in Second and Robert Huisman in third.

Dave Beadle showed his  strength by riding away  from the 24 man B Grade peleton  to win in a time of 1.27:52. Minor places were filled by Matt Dodds  and Ray Robinson

Thirty riders  entered in the one lap  C Grade race. This large field was  broken up  as a result of the  superior strength of some of their fellow riders.  Mike Tou stormed to victory, and proved his worth for the B grade race next week. Graham Irvine  showed a good return to form with a second place and John Archer filled third poition.

Next week the points series  continues with the Thornbury Tavern Graded Race, which will be started at an earlier time to align with the Ranfurly Shield defence.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5