Date: Thursday, 12 October 2017

Southland cyclists dominated the Junior Carnival and South Island Schools Track Championships in Invercargill on Tuesday and Wednesday.

James Hargest College took out the event, from Christchurch Boys' High School second, followed by Southland Girls' High School and Southland Boys' High School.

In the teams events, James Hargest College won the boys' under-20 sprint with Ewan Syme, Nepia Ruwhiu and Conor Shearing beating Christchurch Boys' High School in the final.

The Hargest team of Jasmine McLeod, Rhylee Akeroyd and Hayley Paterson picked up the girls' under-16 pursuit from SGHS combination of Lillie McIntyre, Dee Jamieson, Jade Cameron and Davi Frew.

SGHS quartet of Nicole Marshall, Helena Rikiti, Tayla Lumsden and Sophie-Leigh Bloxham claimed the under-20 women's pursuit from Christchurch Girls' High School.

Central Southland College won the girls' under-16 team sprint with the Green sisters Natalie and Tyla, edging Hargest pair of Jasmine McLeod and Rhylee Akeroyd.

SGHS took out the girls' under-20 team sprint through Marshall and Bloxham, ahead of Emily Paterson and Madeleine Gough.

SBHS claimed the under-16 boys' sprint through Jacob Willis, Navarh Brotherston and Mitchel Fitzsimons, while Quinn Naylor joined the trio in the pursuit victory over Hargest.

In the individual events there were some excellent performances, with the likes of Marshall Erwood, Fitzsimons, Akeroyd and Corbin Strong some of the standout Southland performers, continuing their form from the recent Yunca Junior Tour of Southland.

Caption: James Hargest College sprint team of Ewan Syme, Nepia Ruwhiu and Conor Shearing at the South Island Schools Track Championships in Invercargill.

 - Stuff
© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5