Date: Monday, 05 July 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

The South Island Secondary School Championships were held over the weekend with strong fields and great racing at Ruapuna. A total of 268 riders kitted up for the South Island Championships Individual and Teams Time Trials and road race competitions.

The growth of cycling at school level was well spread with the 12 age group winners coming from ten different schools in Christchurch, South Canterbury, Central Otago and Southland.

The racing was also close with sprint finishes determining the winners in all six titles in the boys’ competition with Hamish Beadle (James Hargest) winning the under-13 title. 

The judges were needed to separate the winners in all of the girls’ categories as well with the under-17 title going to Kate Dunlevey (Southland Girls).

Full Southland Results follow:

Individual Time Trial

U13 Boys Gold Medal Hamish Beadle James Hargest College
U14 Girls Gold medal Bronwyn Graham Southland Girls High School
U15 Boys Silver medal Michael Culling Southland Boys High School
U15 Girls Bronze medal Brooke Brazier SGHS
U16 Girls Bronze medal Jennifer Muhl JHC
U17 Girls Bronze medal Kate Dunleavy SGHS
U20 Boys Bronze medal Pieter Bulling SBHS

Team Time Trial

U16 Boys Bronze medal SBHS, Michael Culling, Josh Haggerty, Nick Kergozou
U16 Girls Silver medal JHC, Jen Muhl, Sophie McMurdo, Monikue Raggett
U20 Girls Silver medal SGHS Kelsey Timpany, Georgia Timpany, Kate Dunleavy
U20 Boys Bronze medal SBHS Pieter Bulling, Jamie Culling, Ethan Thwaites

Road Race

U13 Boys Gold medal Hamish Beadle JHC
U14 Girls Silver medal Bronwyn Graham SGHS
U15 Boys Silver Medal Michael Culling SBHS
U16 Boys Bronze medal Josh Haggerty SBHS
U17 Girls Gold medal Kate Dunleavy SGHS
U20 Girls Bronze medal Kelsey Timpany SGHS
U20 Boys Bronze medal PieterBulling SBHS

For full results click here.

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5