Date: Saturday, 30 October 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland



A big field turned out to race on the Thornbury Circuit and an opportunity for some tour riders to stretch their legs prior to the Tour of Southland.

The tour riders took out the first six placings of A Grade with Pieter Bulling being the first Southlander in 7th place.

Tom Delaney won the bunch finish from Chris Nicholson and Gordon McCauley in A Grade.

The B Grade also featured a bunch sprint finish with Aaron Sinclair just pipping Stu MacDonald on the line.  Third place was taken by junior rider Josh Haggerty.


C Grade had the largest field with 29 riders starting their 2 lap circuit.  Once again there was a mass bunch finish which John Archer won ahead of Wally Kopae and Paigan Marshall.


Ten riders took part in the recreational ride that Simon Croom assisted with teaching skills as he is still recovering from a broken collar bone – Thanks Simon.


Thanks also to all those who participated – as riders and especially as officials.  The Thornbury Tavern did a wonderful job stepping in and sponsoring the event at late notice.  A great day out for all.



A Grade:

1st         Tom Delaney

2nd        Chris Nicholson

3rd       Gordon McCauley

4th        Karl Murray

5th        Mathew Benson

6th        Ryan Obst

7th        Pieter Bulling

8th        Greg Henderson


B Grade

1st         Aaron Sinclair

2nd        Stu MacDonald

3rd        Josh Haggerty

4th        Steve Brough

5th        Logan Havenaar

6th        Dave Beadle

7th        Gabby Vermunt

8th        Paddy Daly


C Grade

1st         John Archer

2nd        Wally Kopae

3rd        Paigan Marshall

4th        Colin Horton

5th        Daryl Haggerty

6th        Tony Raggett

7th        Andrew Calder

8th        Dave Simpson

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5