Date: Sunday, 05 February 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

The second day of the RaboDirect Elite Track National Championships started with a qualifying session to set up some strong sprint duels for tonight’s session.

Natasha Hansen (Southland)  was the star of the morning, setting a new national record of 11.219 in the 200 metre sprint qualifying. Hansen adds this national record to the 500 metre time trial one set last night.  

She cruised through the quarter finals, and Katie Scholfield (Otago), Stephanie McKenzie (Southland) and Vanessa Quinn (Auckland) will join her in the semi-finals tonight.

There were no surprises in the men’s sprint quarter finals, with the BikeNZ sprint squad of Eddie Dawkins, Matt Archibald, Sam Webster and Ethan Mitchell qualifying fastest and flying through the quarter finals to secure their spots in the semi finals tonight.

A win in the under 19 individual pursuit solidified Dylan Kennett’s (Canterbury) Omnium lead. Kennett, who clocked 3.22.945 in the individual pursuit has a 10 point lead ahead of Hayden McCormick (Waikato Bay of Plenty), with Canterbury’s Tayla Harrison in third.

Alysha Keith (Otago) continues to lead the under 19 women’s Omnium. Racquel Sheath (Auckland) was the fastest in the individual pursuit but Keith’s second place ensured that she retained her lead with two events to go. Sheath and Cassie Cameron (WCNI) are tied for second on 10 points.

Tonight sees the sprint and points race titles determined, as well as the conclusion of the under 19 omniums.


Elite Men Sprint, Qualifying: Eddie Dawkins (Southland) 10.169, 1; Matt Archibald (Southland) 10.325, 2; Sam Webster (Auckland) 10.339, 3.

Quarter finals:  Dawkins bt Vercoe; Archibald bt Sheath; Webster bt Watson; Mitchell bt Evans

Men's Sprint repechage: Karl Watson (Southland), 5; Regan Sheath (Southland), 6; Lee Evans (WCNI) 7; James Vercoe (Auckland)8.

Elite Women Sprint, Qualifying:  Natasha Hansen (Southland) 11.219 (NZ Record), 1; Katie Scholfield (Otago), 11.585, 2; Stephanie McKenzie (Southland) 11.719, 3.

Quarter finals: Hansen bt Laike;  Scholfield bt Wieblitz; McKenzie bt Latta; Quinn bt Mitchell

Women's sprint repechage: Hannah Latta (Wellington), 5;  Olivia Wieblitz (Canterbury), 6;  Katri Laike (Otago), 7; Henrietta Mitchell (Auckland), 8.

Under 19 Men Omnium, Individual Pursuit: Dylan Kennett (Canterbury) 3.22.945, 1; Hayden McCormick (Waikato Bay of Plenty) 3.24.208, 2; Hardy Michel (Auckland) 3.29.323, 3.

- Standings after four events: Kennett, 6pts, 1; McCormick, 16 pts, 2; Tayla Harrison (Canterbury), 22pts, 3.

Under 19 Women Omnium, Individual Pursuit: Racquel Sheath (Auckland) 2.30.637, 1; Alysha Keith (Otgao) 2.31.062, 2; Cassie Cameron (WCNI) 2.32.024, 3.

- Standings after four events: Keith, 6 pts, 1; Seath, 10 pts; Cameron, 10pts, 3=

For full results click here.

© Copyright 2022 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5