Date: Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Saturday’s moderate easterly and cool overcast conditions were brilliant compared to last years gale force northwesterly for 60 riders at Waikaka. Riders from Central, Dunedin, Southland and Oamaru made racing fast and competitive.

The A grade race split up at the KOM climb (20km) with Tim Rush and Corbin Strong going clear, with Corbin taking the KOM cash. Matt Zenovich, Josh Haggerty, Jordan Gilmore, Kris Rush and Joseph Swale were quick to join them. After a series of attacks, Matt went solo for the next 50km before six chasers brought him back with 15km to go. After more attacks it was Tim Rush who went solo to take the win ahead of his brother Kris and Matt.

26 B graders rode together to the foot of the KOM where the field basically split in half with 12 riders forming the break over the top and down towards Waikoikoi. A close encounter with some stock signs and a big mob of sheep threatened to derail the break as it was forming. At the first lap sprint down the Main Street of Waikaka, Wayne Miller timed his run to perfection to take the money. Shane Pointon rode strongly throughout the race making several attacks, both solo and taking other riders with him at times. However strong chasing from Gavin Mason in particular kept the group together. With 8km left the decisive break was made with Geoff Keogh and Pointon riding impressively to stay away to the finish.

C grade set off with 12 riders. A steady pace was set as the group worked evenly as they headed towards the turn at Willowbank. At KOM Tim Maynard jumped off the front near the top to take the win. The 10 remaining riders joined up again after Waikoikoi. Attacks from Jack King and Brian Lippers were shut down by Alister Murchland, Dave Watkins and Craig Sadlier working well. At the final hill Maynard made a brief attack but the legs deserted him and the bunch of nine passed him in the final km. Youngster Jack King had the legs in the final sprint from Brian Lippers, Sadlier and Haggerty.

Full Results

A grade:
1st- Tim Rush
2nd- Kris Rush
3rd- Matt Zenovich
4th- Josh Haggerty;
KOM Corbin Strong; Sprint Matt Zenovich

B grade:
1st- Geoff Keogh
2nd- Shane Pointon
3rd- Neil Hamilton
4th- Wayne Miller; KOM Gavin Mason; Sprint Wayne Miller

C grade:
1st- Jack King
2nd- Brian Lippers
3rd- Craig Sadlier
4th- Daryl Haggerty
KOM- Tim Maynard

D grade:
1st- Josh Miller
2nd- Hayden Thomas
3rd- Emma Carle
4th- Bill Sutherland

Huge thank you to all our marshals, drivers and sponsors, headed by internet providers yrless +, Regional Ford and Waikaka Transport.

Report courtesy of Neil Sutherland with the help of Corbin Strong and Tim Maynard.

© Copyright 2022 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5