Date: Sunday, 20 January 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Cam Karwowski on his way to winning Div 1Cycling Southland's annual ILT New Year Cycling Series continued today with the Ascot Park Hotel Criterium.

After early morning rain the day cleared nicely for the 10am start although riders had to contend with blustery conditions throughout racing.

Corbin Strong took out the Under 13 & 15 race ahead of Samuel Miller while Kate Ward squeezed over ahead of Chloe Jenkins to grab third.

In one of the rides of the day Lachie McGregor showed his time trialing prowess taking a full lap on the field to take out the Under 17 race from Max Jones and Tom Sexton.

The Open Division 3 race was an even affair which came down to the final lap with Holly Edmondston showing a clean set of heels in the final sprint with Nathan Adams taking second in a photo finish over Troy Boniface. 

Craig Domigan wins Div 2A three-man breakaway dominated the Division 2 race with Mid South Canterbury's Craig Domigan, who was hugely impressive over the two nights of track racing, continuing his good form taking the win from Derek Tan and Andrew Lienert.

The Division One race followed a similar script with Cam Karwowski and Matt Zenovich making the early move. Brad Evans then bridged across to the leaders and the three worked well in unison to shell the rest of the field. In the end it came down to a two-man match sprint over the final lap with Karwowski taking the win over Evans, Zenovich claiming third and Josh Haggerty who rode the race on coach Julian Ineson's bike due to last-minute mechanical issues finishing fourth.

The ILT-sponsored series concludes on Monday afternoon with the 83rd edition of the annual Gore to Invercargill Road Classic.

A field in excess of 60 will contest the annual Gore to Invercargill road classic, scheduled to finish around 8pm on Tay Street, Invercargill.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5