Date: Friday, 23 March 2018

More than 160 track cyclists from more than 40 schools took part in the inaugural National School Track Championships in Cambridge this week, including brothers Ronan and Conor Shearing from James Hargest College, in Invercargill.

The brothers rode strongly throughout the week with Conor finishing second overall to Angus Claasen in the Under 20 men's individual omnium. Conor finished second in the scratch final, second in the points and third in the keirin. Meanwhile, Ronan finished second in the scratch final, fifth in the points and finished fourth overall in the individual Omnium.

View the full individual results:

Cambridge High School dominated the championships to become the first to win the Top School Trophy ahead of St Peters Cambridge and Palmerston North Boys after the two-day competition at the Avantidrome.

The championships, sponsored by the Avanti bike shop, comprised team and individual events on Tuesday and Wednesday. Riders competed in a Derby race or Keirin, Points Race, Scratch Race, Team Pursuit and Team Sprint, awarded for their placings in each which lead to overall winners in each age group.

In-form Angus Claasen (Palmerston North Boys High) was awarded top honours in the under-20 boys after a number of strong performances throughout the championships, winning the derby, points and scratch races while leading the way to win the team sprint.

Ally Wollaston of St Peters School Cambridge won the under-20 girls after strong performances in each of the individual events.

Cambridge High School dominated the under-17 grade with Reuben Webster winning in the boys and Mya Anderson for the girls.

The under-16 boys winner was Jack Carswell who showed his strength throughout in representing St Peters School Cambridge while the girls winner Jenna Borthwick of St Margaret’s College from Christchurch.

Jaxson Russell of Cambridge High School dominated in the under-15 boys field, winning all but the Team Sprint, along with Waikato Diocesan’s Jade Perry who came out with top honours in the girls field.

Hot off her mountain bike win at the National School Championships in Rotorua, Seana Gray (Waikato Waldorf School) won the under-14 girls overall title while up-and-coming Whanganui High School rider Jack Overweel won the boys.

The under-13 category winners were locals Jack Whittall and Mackenzie Barnett, both of Cambridge Middle School.

Overall results:

Under-13 Boys: Jack Whittall (Cambridge Middle) 120, 1; Lucas Bhimy (Rangeview Intermediate) 110, 2; Kane Foster (St Peter’s Cambridge) 106, 3. Girls: Mackenzie Barnett (Cambridge Middle) 120, 1; Karlita Pomare (Kaitaia Intermediate) 112, 2; Millie Donald (Kenakena) 106, 3.

Under-14 Boys: Jack Overwell (Whanganui High) 120, 1; Maui Morrisson (Cambridge High) 112, 2; Hamish Banks (St Peter’s Cambridge) 110, 3. Girls: Seana Gray (Waikato Waldorf 118, 1; Jess Carswell (St Peters Cambridge) 106, 2; Georgia Simpson (Feilding High) 106, 3.

Under-15 Boys: Jaxson Russell (Cambridge Hig) 120, 1; Matt Davis (Cambridge High) 106, 2; Chenuka Rajapakse (Palmerston North Boys) 106, 3. Girls: Jade Perry (Waikato Diocesan) 116, 1; Bee Townsend (Epsom Girls) 114, 2; Keisha Anderson (Cambridge High) 110, 3.

Under-16 Boys: Jack Carswell (St Peters Cambridge) 120, 1; Ben Irvine (Palmerston North Boys) 106, 2; Ewan Cousins (Palmerston North Boys) 106, 3. Girls: Jenna Borthwick (St Margaret’s College) 118, 1; Summer Williams (Cambridge High) 108, 2; Jorja Clouth (Baradene College) 108, 3.

Under-17 Boys: Reuben Webster (Cambridge High) 118, 1; Michael Richmond (Palmerston North Boys) 104, 2; Max Williams (St Johns Hastings) 98, 3. Girls: Mya Anderson (Cambridge High) 120, 1; Ella Wyllie (Epsom Girls) 114, 2; Isabella Roulston (Ashburton College) 108, 3.

Under-20 Boys: Angus Claasen (Palmerston North Boys) 120, 1; Conor Shearing (James Hargest) 112, 2; Callum Walsh (Saint Kentigern) 98. Girls: Ally Wollaston (St Peters Cambridge) 120, 1; Samantha Ogle (Cambridge High) 114, 2; Grace Saywell (Paraparaumu College) 102, 3.

CAPTION: Cambridge High School wins top school award at the National School Track Championships.

Photo credit: Concept78 Photography


© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5